Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Rob Huff hunts down Yvan Muller for Porto WTCC race two victory

Rob Huff races with Yvan Muller in PortoRob Huff has taken a dramatic win in the second World Touring Car race around the streets of Porto after closing down a large gap to pass Chevrolet team-mate Yvan Muller.

Muller had taken the lead from polesitter Stefano d'Aste on lap three and set about building an advantage while Huff tried to find his own way past the Wiechers-Sport BMW. He got past a lap later, however by then Muller was already 2.5 seconds down the road.

Huff took 0.5s out of the Frenchman's lead on a single lap, did the same next time round, and then took a full second out of him on the lap after that.

What had seemed like a foregone conclusion had turned into a proper scrap that was settled when Huff had a lunge at one of the chicanes, the pair belted into each other, and the Briton skidded over the chicane and into the lead. With a clear track ahead, he took off and crossed the line 1.7s clear of his team-mate.

D'Aste was removed from the equation when he was issued a drive-through penalty for jumping the start, which moved Tiago Monteiro (SUNRED SEAT) up into third. The leaders were long gone by that point, but Monteiro's podium still drew an enthusiastic reaction from the locals.

A final moment of drama awaited d'Aste when he was punted through some bollards by a last-lap hit from Mehdi Bennani; an incident that was being investigated by the stewards at time of writing.

That aside, the race passed mostly without incident, although Robert Dahlgren was lucky not to trigger an accident when his Polestar Volvo bogged down on the line at the start, forcing the field to swerve around him.

Race one winner Alain Menu's fears of not being able to do much from eighth on the grid proved to be realised, with his final position of sixth about as much as the Chevrolet driver could have hoped for on a circuit where overtaking is so difficult.

Norbert Michelisz completed a clean sweep of Independent class wins for the weekend in his Zengo Dension BMW.

Results - 11 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Rob Huff            Chevrolet          23m24.533s
 2.  Yvan Muller         Chevrolet            + 1.797s
 3.  Tiago Monteiro      SUNRED SEAT          + 8.728s
 4.  Norbert Michelisz   Zengo BMW            + 9.752s
 5.  Tom Coronel         ROAL BMW            + 10.059s
 6.  Alain Menu          Chevrolet           + 11.114s
 7.  Gabriele Tarquini   SUNRED SEAT         + 12.849s
 8.  Franz Engstler      Engstler BMW        + 19.474s
 9.  Darryl O'Young      Chevrolet           + 24.147s
10.  Fredy Barth         SUNRED SEAT         + 25.787s
11.  Mehdi Bennani       Proteam BMW         + 28.161s
12.  Stefano D'Aste      Wiechers BMW        + 30.250s
13.  Michel Nykjaer      SUNRED SEAT         + 34.399s
14.  Aleksei Dudukalo    SUNRED SEAT         + 37.373s
15.  Pepe Oriola         SUNRED SEAT         + 37.950s
16.  Yukinori Taniguchi  Bamboo Chevrolet    + 38.735s
17.  Robert Dahlgren     Polestar Volvo      + 39.365s
18.  Javier Villa        Proteam BMW         + 41.084s
19.  Kristian Poulsen    Engstler BMW      + 1m53.447s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Menu leads Chevrolet podium sweep
Menu leads another Chevy grid sweep
Huff leads Porto practice two
Menu flies in Porto practice