Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Bianchi takes Silverstone pole

Jules Bianchi, ART, Silverstone 2010Jules Bianchi topped a close-fought GP2 qualifying session at Silverstone to claim pole for tomorrow's feature race.

Seven different drivers took turns up front, but Bianchi (ART) finally secured the honours with a best lap of 1m39.189s, enough to put him 0.136 seconds clear of Pastor Maldonado (Rapax).

Racing Engineering's rookie Christian Vietoris was an excellent third, although the German will drop to 13th due to a 10-place grid penalty carried over from the previous round in Valencia. Similar penalties await 2009 Silverstone winner Alberto Valerio (Coloni), who was ninth fastest, and Trident's Johny Cecotto, who was 18th.

Vietoris' demotion means that his team-mate Dani Clos will start from third alongside iSport's Oliver Turvey, with ART's Sam Bird and Arden's Charles Pic just behind them, the latter having rebounded well from losing virtually all of free practice to an engine problem.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Jules Bianchi        ART                 1m39.189s
 2.  Pastor Maldonado     Rapax               1m39.325s  + 0.136s
 3.  Christian Vietoris   Racing Engineering  1m39.423s  + 0.234s
 4.  Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  1m39.653s  + 0.464s
 5.  Oliver Turvey        iSport              1m39.701s  + 0.512s
 6.  Sam Bird             ART                 1m39.756s  + 0.567s
 7.  Charles Pic          Arden               1m39.791s  + 0.602s
 8.  Giedo van der Garde  Barwa Addax         1m39.809s  + 0.620s
 9.  Alberto Valerio      Coloni              1m39.811s  + 0.622s
10.  Sergio Perez         Barwa Addax         1m39.894s  + 0.705s
11.  Davide Valsecchi     iSport              1m39.901s  + 0.712s
12.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                1m39.941s  + 0.752s
13.  Luca Filippi         Super Nova          1m39.984s  + 0.795s
14.  Giacomo Ricci        DPR                 1m40.288s  + 1.099s
15.  Michael Herck        DPR                 1m40.342s  + 1.153s
16.  Marcus Ericsson      Super Nova          1m40.511s  + 1.322s
17.  Luiz Razia           Rapax               1m40.559s  + 1.370s
18.  Johnny Cecotto       Trident             1m40.747s  + 1.558s
19.  Adrian Zaugg         Trident             1m40.812s  + 1.623s
20.  Max Chilton          Ocean               1m41.046s  + 1.857s
21.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Arden               1m41.344s  + 2.155s
22.  Fabio Leimer         Ocean               1m41.548s  + 2.359s
23.  Vlado Arabadjiev     Coloni              1m41.654s  + 2.465s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Perez dominates Silverstone sprint
Maldonado takes commanding victory
Maldonado fastest in free practice