Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Piquet dominates race 1 in Hungary

In 1986 Nelson Piquet won the first ever Hungarian Grand Prix, passing Ayrton Senna around the outside of turn one on his way to victory.

Twenty years later. Nelson Piquet Jr didn't have to bother with overtaking anyone as he romped to one of the most dominant GP2 race wins in the series' short history.

From pole position, the title pretender sped off into an unassailable lead, which he held throughout the pitstops.

By the chequered flag, the Brazilian was over 30 seconds ahead of his nearest challenger, and with Lewis Hamilton again having a bad day, the championship lead has been cut to just 13 points.

Great pitwork from iSport moved Timo Glock into second, while Giorgio Pantano inherited third after Gimmi Bruni's suspension failed. Ernesto Viso took fourth, while Xandi Negrao showed Piquet Sports' strong form with fifth.

Alex Premat gave ART some cheer by rising from 15th on the grid to sixth, while Adam Carroll, Jose Maria Lopez and Franck Perera staged a great fight for the final points. Carroll ended up seventh, while Lopez took eighth and the sprint race pole.

From last on the grid, Hamilton made a blinding start to run 18th after the first lap. He made an early pitstop, but was penalised for speeding in the pitlane.

After taking his penalty, the Briton charged back through the order, but such was the deficit that tenth was the best he could do.


Pos  Driver        Team                          Time
 1.  Piquet Jr.    Piquet Sports                 1h05:13.884
 2.  Glock         iSport International          +    32.795
 3.  Pantano       FMS International             +    34.019
 4.  Viso          iSport International          +    39.883
 5.  Negrao        Piquet Sports                 +    40.509
 6.  Premat        ART Grand Prix                +    54.795
 7.  Carroll       Racing Engineering            +    56.075
 8.  Lopez         Super Nova International      +    58.090
 9.  Perera        DAMS                          +    58.666
10.  Hamilton      ART Grand Prix                +    73.818
11.  Monfardini    DAMS                          +    80.261
12.  Filippi       BCN Competicion               +    1 Lap
13.  Zuber         Trident Racing                +    1 Lap
14.  Di Grassi     Durango                       +    1 Lap
15.  Petrov        DPR                           +    1 Lap
16.  Fauzy         Super Nova International      +    1 Lap


     Driver        Team                         Laps
     Valles        Campos Racing                 26
     Bruni         Trident Racing                25
     Hernandez     Durango                       25
     Tahinci       FMS International             22
     Yoshimoto     BCN Competicion               17
     Lapierre      Arden International Ltd       17
     Villa         Racing Engineering            16
     Porteiro      Campos Racing                 16
     Piccione      DPR                            7
     Ammermueller  Arden International Ltd        0

Fastest lap: Piquet Jr., 1:30.711 on lap 21
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Piquet also wins rainy race 2
Piquet takes pole as Hamilton spins
Piquet tops Hungary practice