You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Daytona 24 Hours: Kobayashi tops final practice in WTR Cadillac

Kamui Kobayashi WTR Cadillac Daytona 24 Hours 2020

Wayne Taylor Racing's ex-Formula 1 driver Kamui Kobayashi dominated the final IMSA SportsCar Championship practice session before the Daytona 24 Hours.

Kobayashi rattled off a series of strong laps in the #10 Cadillac, ending with a 1m35.340s before he pitted.

Helio Castroneves was second fastest in the #7 Pekse Acura that Ricky Taylor crashed at the Bus Stop in Thursday's qualifying session, working down to within four tenths of the fastest time.

Sebastien Bourdais was third fastest in the #5 JDC Miller MotorSports Cadillac, ahead of Mike Conway in the similar #31 Action Express Racing entry.

Nicolas Lapierre set the pace in LMP2 for Tower Motorsport by Starworks, his ORECA lapping eighth fastest overall.

Although this session is primarily for teams to make final preparations ahead of the 24 Hours, there were two red flags for incidents.

The first stoppage was for the #47 Precision Performance Lamborghini of Mark Kvamme spinning at the Bus Stop, which caused some anxious avoidances as he came to a halt in the middle of the track.

Video brought to you in partnership with Lamborghini

The second red flag, which ended the session prematurely, was for the #38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA LMP2 machine.

Don Yount spun the car, which ended up on its side on the inside of Turn 6. He scrambled out unhurt.

In the GTLM class, the new Chevrolet C8.R set a searing pace in Antonio Garcia's hands. He lapped in 1m42.962s, seven tenths clear of Nick Tandy's #911 Porsche.

Laurens Vanthoor was next up in the sister Porsche, ahead of Bruno Spengler's BMW M8.

Former Toyota F1 tester Franck Perera topped GTD in the #11 GRT Grasser Lamborghini Huracan, ahead of the #63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 of Toni Vilander.

Final practice times

1DPiR.van der Zande, R.Briscoe, S.Dixon, K.KobayashiKonica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.RCadillac1m35.340s-
2DPiR.Taylor, H.Castroneves, A.RossiAcura Team PenskeAcura1m35.733s0.393s
3DPiS.Bourdais, L.Duval, J.BarbosaJDC-Mustang Sampling RacingCadillac1m36.031s0.691s
4DPiM.Conway, P.Derani, F.Albuquerque, F.NasrWhelen Engineering RacingCadillac1m36.668s1.328s
5DPiJ.Piedrahita, M.Leist, C.Miller, T.VautierJDC-Miller MotorsportsCadillac1m36.940s1.600s
6DPiO.Jarvis, T.Nunez, O.PlaMazda Team JoestMazda1m37.076s1.736s
7DPiJ.Bomarito, H.Tincknell, R.H.-ReayMazda Team JoestMazda1m37.152s1.812s
8LMP2R.Dalziel, D.H.Hansson, J.Farano, N.LapierreTower Motorsport by StarworksORECA/Gibson1m37.230s1.890s
9LMP2B.Keating, S.Trummer, N.Boulle, G.AubryPR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsORECA/Gibson1m37.249s1.909s
10DPiD.Cameron, S.Pagenaud, J.P.MontoyaAcura Team PenskeAcura1m37.276s1.936s
11LMP2B.Hanley, H.Hedman, C.Braun, H.NeweyDragonSpeedORECA/Gibson1m38.283s2.943s
12LMP2C.Cassels, R.Masson, K.Masson, D.YountPerformance Tech MotorsportsORECA/Gibson1m40.847s5.507s
13GTLMA.Garcia, J.Taylor, N.CatsburgCorvette RacingChevrolet1m42.962s7.622s
14GTLMM.Campbell, N.Tandy, F.MakowieckiPorsche GT TeamPorsche1m43.629s8.289s
15GTLML.Vanthoor, E.Bamber, M.JaminetPorsche GT TeamPorsche1m43.756s8.416s
16GTLMC.De Phillippi, P.Eng, B.Spengler, C.HertaBMW Team RLLBMW1m44.348s9.008s
17GTLMO.Gavin, T.Milner, M.FasslerCorvette RacingChevrolet1m44.558s9.218s
18GTLMJ.M.Edwards, A.Farfus, C.Mostert, J.KrohnBMW Team RLLBMW1m44.737s9.397s
19GTLMJ.Calado, A.P.Guidi, D.Serra, D.RigonRisi CompetizioneFerrari1m44.803s9.463s
20GTDR.Heistand, S.Schothorst, F.Perera, A.CostaGRT Grasser Racing TeamLamborghini1m46.308s10.968s
21GTDC.MacNeil, T.Vilander, J.Westphal, A.BalzanScuderia CorsaFerrari1m46.430s11.090s
22GTDT.Pappas, J.Bleekemolen, S.Muller, T.EstepBlack Swan RacingPorsche1m46.467s11.127s
23GTDM.Bortolotti, R.Ineichen, D.Morad, D.VanthoorWRT Speedstar Audi SportAudi1m46.889s11.549s
24GTDM.Snow, B.Sellers, C.Lewis, A.CaldarelliPaul Miller RacingLamborghini1m47.094s11.754s
25GTDJ.Potter, A.Lally, S.Pumpelly, M.MapelliGRT Magnus Racing TeamLamborghini1m47.293s11.953s
26GTDP.Chase, J.Hawksworth, M.De Quesada, K.BuschAIM Vasser SullivanLexus1m47.310s11.970s
27GTDR.Foley, J.Klingmann, B.Auberlen, D.MachavernTurner MotorsportBMW1m47.320s11.980s
28GTDC.Nielsen, K.Legge, T.Calderon, R.FreyGEAR Racing powered by GRT GrasserLamborghini1m47.337s11.997s
29GTDI.James, N.Thiim, R.De Angelis, A.RiberasHeart of Racing TeamAston Martin1m47.519s12.179s
30GTDB.Gdovic, E.Lux, M.Kvamme, J.HoggardPrecision Performance MotorsportsLamborghini1m47.647s12.307s
31GTDF.Montecalvo, S.Gisbergen, A.Telitz, T.BellAIM Vasser SullivanLexus1m47.722s12.382s
32GTDR.Hardwick, P.Long, A.Imperato, K.BachlerWright MotorsportsPorsche1m47.799s12.459s
33GTDL.Aschenbach, B.Keating, G.Robinson, F.FragaRiley MotorsportsMercedes1m47.995s12.655s
34GTDP.Lamy, R.Gunn, M.Lauda, A.WatsonAston Martin RacingAston Martin1m49.227s13.887s
35GTDD.Olsen, Z.Robichon, L.Kern, P.PiletPfaff MotorsportsPorsche--
36LMP2K.Tilley, D.Merriman, R.Lewis, N.MinassianEra MotorsportsORECA/Gibson--
37GTDA.Parente, M.Goikhberg, T.Hindman, A.AllmendingerHeinricher Racing with Meyer Shank RacingAcura--
38GTDM.Farnbacher, M.McMurry, S.Michimi, J.GounonMeyer Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianAcura--

 Earlier IMSA story More news Next IMSA story 
View today's stories
View yesterday's stories
View this month's stories
View last month's stories
Or view stories from:
<<   Feb 2020   >>
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19202122
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed