You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Daytona 24 Hours: Jarvis gives Mazda pole as #7 Penske Acura crashes

Oliver Jarvis Mazda Daytona 24 Hours qualifying 2020

Oliver Jarvis gave Mazda pole for the IMSA SportsCar Championship-opening Daytona 24 Hours for a second year in a row, as prototype qualifying was curtailed by a Ricky Taylor shunt.

Jarvis set a 1m33.711s lap of the 3.56-mile circuit, and pitted his AER-engined Mazda RT24-P early in the Daytona Prototype international session after beating Juan Pablo Montoya's Penske Acura by 0.443 seconds and Mazda team-mate Jonathan Bomarito by 0.458s.

While the #6 Acura qualified second, Taylor was only seventh in the sister #7 entry after crashing at the Bus Stop chicane.

He bounced off the new kerb at the first part of the chicane, landing with his wheels pointing the wrong way, and had too much momentum to gather up the car before it ploughed over the grass and into the tyre wall.

Taylor stepped from his car without assistance, and surveyed its front-end damage before being taken to the medical centre for a check-up.

Felipe Nasr was the fastest Cadillac driver in the Action Express Racing entry, ahead of Wayne Taylor Racing's new full-time recruit Ryan Briscoe.

The JDC Miller Cadillacs of Tristan Vautier and Joao Barbosa were sixth and eighth, 0.743s and 1.336s off the pace respectively.

In LMP2, Ben Keating gave the PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports squad pole, beating Henrik Hedman's DragonSpeed entry by 0.282s.

Nick Tandy Porsche Daytona 24 Hours 2020

A gripping battle between the two Porsche 911 RSRs in the GT Le Mans class was resolved in favour of the #911 car, with Nick Tandy beating Laurens Vanthoor by just 0.049s as both beat the previous qualifying lap record.

Tandy's 1min42.207s was 0.338s faster than the quicker of the two Corvette C8.Rs, which will start third and fourth in class on their debut.

The BMW M8s of Phillipp Eng and John Edwards were 0.734s and 0.882s off the pace, while Alessandro Pier Guidi's Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GTE was a surprising 1.46s adrift.

Video brought to you in partnership with Lamborghini

In the GT Daytona class, Zacharie Robichon set a new track record to claim pole in the Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

His 1m45.237s gave the car he will share with Dennis Olsen, Lars Kern and Patrick Pilet pole by an impressive 0.476s over Jeff Westphal's Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488.

Qualifying result

1DPiO.Jarvis, T.Nunez, O.PlaMazda Team JoestMazda1m33.711s
2DPiD.Cameron, S.Pagenaud, J.P.MontoyaAcura Team PenskeAcura0.443s
3DPiJ.Bomarito, H.Tincknell, R.H.-ReayMazda Team JoestMazda0.458s
4DPiM.Conway, P.Derani, F.Albuquerque, F.NasrWhelen Engineering RacingCadillac0.583s
5DPiR.van der Zande, R.Briscoe, S.Dixon, K.KobayashiKonica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.RCadillac0.731s
6DPiJ.Piedrahita, M.Leist, C.Miller, T.VautierJDC-Miller MotorsportsCadillac0.743s
7DPiS.Bourdais, L.Duval, J.BarbosaJDC-Mustang Sampling RacingCadillac1.336s
8LMP2B.Keating, S.Trummer, N.Boulle, G.AubryPR1/Mathiasen MotorsportsORECA/Gibson3.735s
9LMP2B.Hanley, H.Hedman, C.Braun, H.NeweyDragonSpeedORECA/Gibson4.017s
10LMP2R.Dalziel, D.H.Hansson, J.Farano, N.LapierreTower Motorsport by StarworksORECA/Gibson5.564s
11LMP2C.Cassels, R.Masson, K.Masson, D.YountPerformance Tech MotorsportsORECA/Gibson5.686s
12GTLMM.Campbell, N.Tandy, F.MakowieckiPorsche GT TeamPorsche8.496s
13GTLML.Vanthoor, E.Bamber, M.JaminetPorsche GT TeamPorsche8.545s
14LMP2K.Tilley, D.Merriman, R.Lewis, N.MinassianEra MotorsportsORECA/Gibson8.551s
15GTLMA.Garcia, J.Taylor, N.CatsburgCorvette RacingChevrolet8.834s
16GTLMO.Gavin, T.Milner, M.FasslerCorvette RacingChevrolet9.090s
17GTLMC.De Phillippi, P.Eng, B.Spengler, C.HertaBMW Team RLLBMW9.230s
18GTLMJ.M.Edwards, A.Farfus, C.Mostert, J.KrohnBMW Team RLLBMW9.378s
19GTLMJ.Calado, A.P.Guidi, D.Serra, D.RigonRisi CompetizioneFerrari9.957s
20DPiR.Taylor, H.Castroneves, A.RossiAcura Team PenskeAcura10.354s
21GTDD.Olsen, Z.Robichon, L.Kern, P.PiletPfaff MotorsportsPorsche11.526s
22GTDC.MacNeil, T.Vilander, J.Westphal, A.BalzanScuderia CorsaFerrari12.002s
23GTDA.Parente, M.Goikhberg, T.Hindman, A.AllmendingerHeinricher Racing with Meyer Shank RacingAcura12.126s
24GTDR.Foley, J.Klingmann, B.Auberlen, D.MachavernTurner MotorsportBMW12.161s
25GTDR.Heistand, S.Schothorst, F.Perera, A.CostaGRT Grasser Racing TeamLamborghini12.329s
26GTDM.Bortolotti, R.Ineichen, D.Morad, D.VanthoorWRT Speedstar Audi SportAudi12.464s
27GTDF.Montecalvo, S.Gisbergen, A.Telitz, T.BellAIM Vasser SullivanLexus12.474s
28GTDM.Snow, B.Sellers, C.Lewis, A.CaldarelliPaul Miller RacingLamborghini12.480s
29GTDM.Farnbacher, M.McMurry, S.Michimi, J.GounonMeyer Shank Racing with Curb-AgajanianAcura12.767s
30GTDR.Hardwick, P.Long, A.Imperato, K.BachlerWright MotorsportsPorsche12.774s
31GTDB.Gdovic, E.Lux, M.Kvamme, J.HoggardPrecision Performance MotorsportsLamborghini13.124s
32GTDP.Lamy, R.Gunn, M.Lauda, A.WatsonAston Martin RacingAston Martin13.169s
33GTDI.James, N.Thiim, R.De Angelis, A.RiberasHeart of Racing TeamAston Martin13.330s
34GTDC.Nielsen, K.Legge, T.Calderon, R.FreyGEAR Racing powered by GRT GrasserLamborghini13.437s
35GTDL.Aschenbach, B.Keating, G.Robinson, F.FragaRiley MotorsportsMercedes13.562s
36GTDP.Chase, J.Hawksworth, M.De Quesada, K.BuschAIM Vasser SullivanLexus-
37GTDJ.Potter, A.Lally, S.Pumpelly, M.MapelliGRT Magnus Racing TeamLamborghini-
38GTDT.Pappas, J.Bleekemolen, S.Muller, T.EstepBlack Swan RacingPorsche-

 Earlier IMSA story More news Next IMSA story 
View today's stories
View yesterday's stories
View this month's stories
View last month's stories
Or view stories from:
<<   Feb 2020   >>
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19202122
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed