Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Rins just beats Marquez to win thrilling MotoGP race at Silverstone

Alex Rins Suzuki MotoGP Silverstone 2019

Suzuki rider Alex Rins pulled off a sensational last-corner move to beat MotoGP champion Marc Marquez to win a thrilling British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

A race-long battle between Marquez and Rins was resolved by just 0.013 seconds in favour of Rins after he undercut the Honda rider coming through the fast right-hander of Woodcote for the 20th and final time.

It marks Rins' second victory of his MotoGP career - his first having come at Austin earlier this year - and a second win in three attempts for Suzuki, following Maverick Vinales' triumph for the same team at Silverstone three years ago.

Vinales finished just 0.6s adrift of the lead pair in third for Yamaha, while Valentino Rossi was a distant fourth place after starting second on the grid, 10s down on Rins.

Marquez converted pole into an early lead ahead of Rossi, but behind the lead pair there was drama as Fabio Quartararo and Andrea Dovizioso were involved in a violent incident.

Quartararo, the only rider starting in the top six to opt for a medium front tyre, suffered a high-side coming out of Copse, and Dovizioso was powerless to avoid the Frenchman's stricken Petronas SRT Yamaha, which acted as a launch ramp for the Ducati.

Both riders were initially cleared of serious injury, but Dovizioso was transported to hospital.

The incident helped promote Rins, who had started fifth, to third place, and on the second lap the Spaniard cleared Rossi for second.

Rins then spent the majority of the race closely shadowing Marquez, the first real flashpoint of their fight coming on lap nine, where Rins got a better exit out of Copse and passed Marquez - only for the pair to swap back along the Hangar Straight and into Stowe.

But Marquez was never able to completely shake off Rins, and while Rins did suffer a wobble at Club on lap 17 that cost him around half a second, by the end of the lap he was right back on the reigning champion's rear wheel.

Rins was close to attempting a move at Vale on the penultimate lap, but couldn't find a way through.

Marc Marquez Honda MotoGP Silverstone 2019

Several corners later at The Loop he cut underneath Marquez, but once again, the superior power of the Honda allowed Marquez to retake the lead along the Wellington Straight.

At the start of the final lap, Rins had a look around the outside at Woodcote in a foreshadowing of his race winning move, although on this occasion Marquez forced his rival out on to the kerb and held the advantage.

Rins stayed close throughout the final lap, getting a strong exit out of Luffield and then diving beneath Marquez into the last corner to take a popular victory.

With Dovizioso crashing out, Marquez nonetheless extended his points advantage to 78 with seven rounds remaining of the season.

Franco Morbidelli (Petronas) matched his best result of the season with a fairly uneventful run to fifth place, ahead of local hero Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda), Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) and Jack Miller (Pramac Ducati).

Pol Espargaro headed KTM's challenge in ninth, while teammate Johann Zarco ended up taking out the Tech 3 bike of Miguel Oliveira in an ill-advised move at The Loop.

Andrea Iannone was 10th for Aprilia, also matching his best finish of 2019, although Aleix Espargaro was on course for the position until a late mechanical problem ended his race.

Suzuki stand-in Sylvain Guintoli picked up four points for 12th, while Jorge Lorenzo was 14th on the second Repsol Honda in his first start since June's Barcelona race.

Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda) crashed out of a top 10 place but remounted and finished 17th.

Results - 20 laps

1Alex RinsSuzukiSuzuki40m12.799s
2Marc MarquezHondaHonda0.013s
3Maverick VinalesYamahaYamaha0.620s
4Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha11.439s
5Franco MorbidelliPetronas YamahaYamaha13.109s
6Cal CrutchlowLCR HondaHonda19.169s
7Danilo PetrucciDucatiDucati19.682s
8Jack MillerPramac DucatiDucati20.318s
9Pol EspargaroKTMKTM21.079s
10Andrea IannoneApriliaAprilia25.144s
11Francesco BagnaiaPramac DucatiDucati40.317s
12Sylvain GuintoliSuzukiSuzuki45.478s
13Hafizh SyahrinTech3 KTMKTM54.783s
14Jorge LorenzoHondaHonda56.651s
15Karel AbrahamAvintia DucatiDucati1m29.282s
16Tito RabatAvintia DucatiDucati1m31.716s
17Takaaki NakagamiLCR HondaHonda1m40.420s
-Aleix EspargaroApriliaApriliaRetirement
-Miguel OliveiraTech3 KTMKTMRetirement
-Johann ZarcoKTMKTMRetirement
-Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucatiRetirement
-Fabio QuartararoPetronas YamahaYamahaRetirement
 Earlier MOTOGP story More news Next MOTOGP story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed