Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Snetterton BTCC: Ingram clinches lights-to-flag race one victory

Ingram BTCC Snetterton 2019

Tom Ingram grabbed a second victory of the season for the new Toyota Corolla in the opening British Touring Car Championship race at Snetterton, thanks to a commanding lights-to-flag run.

The Speedworks driver was slightly slower to react at the lights compared to front-row rival Dan Cammish, but was never genuinely threatened on the way to a three-second victory.

Despite both starting on the soft-compound tyre, Team Dynamics driver Cammish was carrying a further 18kg of success ballast over Ingram on a circuit that traditionally punishes heavier cars.

Cammish tucked in behind the Speedworks Toyota during the opening phase of the race and set the fastest lap, but then Ingram settled into a rhythm that was up to four tenths faster per tour.

With the Motorbase Ford Focus RS of Tom Chilton in tow, the leading trio began to break away from soft-shod Sam Tordoff in fourth and points leader Colin Turkington - opting for the medium tyre.

But it then dropped down to just a two-car lead battle when the front-left tyre on Chilton's car punctured through the high-speed Coram corner and he ploughed on into the tyre wall.

No safety car was required, leaving the remainder of the 12-lap race as a sprint between the two front-wheel drive competitors, with Ingram triumphant for his second victory of the season and the 11th for the reigning independent drivers' champion in the BTCC.

Sam Tordoff BTCC Snetterton 2019

Tordoff was a distant third, over 4s behind Cammish in the AMD Tuning Honda Civic Type R, with Turkington the top medium-shod and rear-wheel drive runner in fourth place.

His WSR team-mate Andrew Jordan made a late lunge on Jason Plato for fifth place, clattering over the sausage kerbs at Nelson before sealing the position on the inside through the Bomb Hole.

Plato held off the fellow Vauxhall Astra of Rob Collard, with Ollie Jackson eighth after eliminating Matt Neal in the early stages thanks to an optimistic lunge down the inside, which appeared to damage Neal's steering.

Matt Simpson scored his best result of the year in ninth, ahead of top hard-tyre runner Jake Hill.

Rory Butcher was 11th from 2017 champion Ashley Sutton, while title contender and BTC Racing driver Josh Cook dropped back to 20th.

Aidan Moffat enjoyed a surprise upturn in form in the returning Infiniti Q50.

Despite qualifying just 29th, and although he was running on soft tyres among medium and hard-shod rivals, he climbed the car up to 17th place.

Race one results - 12 laps

1Tom IngramSpeedworks MotorsportToyota23m26.771s
2Dan CammishTeam DynamicsHonda3.071s
3Sam TordoffAmD TuningHonda7.199s
4Colin TurkingtonWSRBMW12.499s
5Andrew JordanWSRBMW16.918s
6Jason PlatoPower Maxed RacingVauxhall19.783s
7Rob CollardPower Maxed RacingVauxhall20.333s
8Ollie JacksonMotorbase PerformanceFord20.492s
9Matt SimpsonSimpson RacingHonda21.090s
10Jake HillTrade Price Cars RacingAudi28.584s
11Rory ButcherAmD TuningHonda29.419s
12Ash SuttonBMR RacingSubaru29.689s
13Bobby ThompsonTeam HardVolkswagen33.946s
14Chris SmileyBTC RacingHonda34.871s
15Daniel RowbottomCiceley MotorsportMercedes36.178s
16Tom OliphantWSRBMW44.997s
17Aiden MoffatLaser Tools RacingInfiniti45.475s
18Jack GoffTeam HardVolkswagen45.886s
19Senna ProctorBMR RacingSubaru46.199s
20Josh CookBTC RacingHonda52.334s
21Carl BoardleyTeam HardVolkswagen53.244s
22Nicolas HamiltonMotorbase PerformanceFord53.834s
23Mark BlundellTrade Price Cars RacingAudi56.934s
24Sam OsborneExcelr8 MotorsportMG58.699s
25Stephen JelleyTeam Parker RacingBMW1m03.242s
26Rob SmithExcelr8 MotorsportMG1m06.880s
27Michael CreesTeam HardVolkswagen1m41.591s
-Adam MorganCiceley MotorsportMercedesRetirement
-Tom ChiltonMotorbase PerformanceFordRetirement
-Matt NealTeam DynamicsHondaRetirement

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed