Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Marquez dominates wet Brno MotoGP FP3

Marquez Brno MotoGP 2019

Honda's Marc Marquez dominated a wet third MotoGP practice ahead of the Czech Grand Prix, as Suzuki wildcard Sylvain Guintoli was an impressive third.

Despite no rain falling on track during the 45-minute session and a dry line starting to emerge towards the end, all riders spent the entire session on wet tyres.

Marquez established himself in the lead with his very first lap of 2m08.277s and improved several times early on, keeping a dominant two-second gap over the rest of the field.

His last fast lap was a 2m04.279s, set after the opening 10 minutes, and this remained the benchmark time until the finish.

The field gradually closed the gap, with Guintoli moving up to second, nine tenths off Marquez's time, before Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales also improved.

Vinales ended up taking second with a deficit of 0.588s behind Marquez, while Guintoli securing third.

Danilo Petrucci was fourth on the best of the Ducatis, followed by the Yamahas of Valentino Rossi and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas SRT), who impressed in his first proper wet MotoGP session.

As did Joan Mir, who brought the second Suzuki into the top 10 in seventh, followed by KTM's Pol Espargaro, whose Tech 3 counterpart Miguel Oliveira was ninth. Andrea Iannone (Aprilia) completed the top 10.

Last year's Brno race winner Andrea Dovizioso spent session outside of the top 10 and ended up 13th, 2.3s slower than Marquez.

The wet running on Saturday morning meant no improvements on the combined order were made, with the automatic Q2 qualifiers bagging their place based on Friday's running.

Quartararo set the pace in FP2 by 0.023s from Marquez, with Pramac's Jack Miller, Dovizioso and Vinales rounding out the top five on the combined order.

The final Q2 places were secured by Alex Rins on the Suzuki, the sister SRT bike of Franco Morbidelli, Cal Crutchlow (LCR), Rossi and Petrucci.

1Marc MarquezHondaHonda2m04.279s-9
2Maverick VinalesYamahaYamaha2m04.867s0.588s14
3Sylvain GuintoliSuzukiSuzuki2m05.173s0.894s7
4Danilo PetrucciDucatiDucati2m05.410s1.131s9
5Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha2m05.731s1.452s17
6Fabio QuartararoPetronas YamahaYamaha2m06.219s1.940s17
7Joan MirSuzukiSuzuki2m06.328s2.049s15
8Pol EspargaroKTMKTM2m06.335s2.056s11
9Miguel OliveiraTech3 KTMKTM2m06.345s2.066s13
10Andrea IannoneApriliaAprilia2m06.381s2.102s13
11Cal CrutchlowLCR HondaHonda2m06.527s2.248s14
12Jack MillerPramac DucatiDucati2m06.539s2.260s7
13Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati2m06.599s2.320s15
14Franco MorbidelliPetronas YamahaYamaha2m06.616s2.337s13
15Alex RinsSuzukiSuzuki2m06.779s2.500s14
16Johann ZarcoKTMKTM2m07.031s2.752s16
17Aleix EspargaroApriliaAprilia2m07.114s2.835s10
18Karel AbrahamAvintia DucatiDucati2m07.383s3.104s14
19Takaaki NakagamiLCR HondaHonda2m07.414s3.135s16
20Stefan BradlHondaHonda2m07.872s3.593s12
21Francesco BagnaiaPramac DucatiDucati2m07.944s3.665s12
22Tito RabatAvintia DucatiDucati2m08.199s3.920s16
23Hafizh SyahrinTech3 KTMKTM2m08.325s4.046s15

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed