Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Kristoffersson claims first WTCR victory in Nurburgring race two

Johan Kristoffersson Loeb Volkswagen Nurburgring WTCR 2019

Double World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson resisted a challenge for the lead on lap one to claim his first World Touring Car Cup victory in the second Nurburgring Nordschleife race.

Kristoffersson was challenged by the Audis of wildcard entrant Antti Buri and Comtoyou driver Frederic Vervisch on the grand prix loop but, having fended off those attacks, was able to break free to win for the first time since switching world championship disciplines.

Buri got a better start than the Sebastien Loeb Racing polesitter and had the inside line for the first corner, but Kristoffersson held on around the outside in his Volkswagen Golf GTI, which became the inside line for the switchback onto the main part of the GP loop.

Vervisch attempted to pass both Buri and Kristoffersson as they squabbled, although Kristoffersson was able to hang the Audi RS3 LMS out to dry and scampered clear from there.

He ended the second of the three laps 3.2 seconds clear of Vervisch and did not let up, eventually claiming the SLR VW squad's first win of 2019 by 5.108s.

Vervisch ended up in a similarly comfortable second but, as had been the case in Friday's opening race, the final podium position was only decided on the final lap.

Gabriele Tarquini (BRC Racing Hyundai i30 N) and Kristoffersson's team-mate Rob Huff had been in a private battle for the place on the final lap, until they came together at the Carousel.

That put Huff, who had been on the outside line, in the barrier and out of the race with front-end and suspension damage.

Tarquini was able to continue and maintained third, but was caught by team-mate Augusto Farfus and the KCMG Honda Civic Type R of Attila Tassi - with Farfus getting ahead on Dottinger Hohe to secure his first podium since returning to World Touring Cars.

Augusto Farfus BRC Hyundai Nurburgring WTCR 2019

Reigning champion Tarquini did cling on to fourth ahead of Tassi, who scored his best WTCR result to date, while Benjamin Leuchter was sixth in the third SLR VW.

Title protagonists Esteban Guerrieri and Norbert Michelisz were seventh and eighth - with Michelisz passing ninth-place finisher Aurelien Panis (Comtoyou Cupra) on the final lap.

Jean-Karl Vernay secured 10th in his WRT Audi, ahead of Tom Coronel, Nicky Catsburg and Thed Bjork - who was the only Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 03 driver to score any points.

Bjork finished 14th on the road behind Buri, who is ineligible for points as a wildcard.

Result - 3 laps

1Johan KristofferssonSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen27m08.370s
2Frederic VervischComtoyou AudiAudi5.108s
3Augusto FarfusBRC Racing TeamHyundai10.891s
4Attila TassiKCMGHonda11.827s
5Benjamin LeuchterSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen12.340s
6Esteban GuerrieriMunnich MotorsportHonda17.591s
7Norbert MicheliszBRC Squadra CorseHyundai22.715s
8Aurelien PanisComtoyou CupraCupra23.072s
9Jean-Karl VernayWRTAudi23.657s
10Tom CoronelComtoyou CupraCupra24.329s
11Antti BuriLMS RacingAudi26.773s
12Thed BjorkCyan RacingLynk & Co27.121s
13Mikel AzconaPWR RacingCupra27.178s
14Tiago MonteiroKCMGHonda27.626s
15Yvan MullerCyan RacingLynk & Co29.256s
16Mehdi BennaniSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagen29.647s
17Daniel HaglofPWR RacingCupra29.839s
18Andy PriaulxCyan PerformanceLynk & Co30.559s
19Kevin CecconTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo30.810s
20Niels LangeveldComtoyou AudiAudi31.157s
21Gordon SheddenWRTAudi31.839s
22Ma QinghuaTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo32.385s
23Gabriele TarquiniBRC Squadra CorseHyundai41.180s
-Nicky CatsburgBRC Racing TeamHyundaiDisqualified
-Nestor GirolamiMunnich MotorsportHondaRetirement
-Rob HuffSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagenRetirement
-Yann EhrlacherCyan PerformanceLynk & CoRetirement

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed