Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WTCR Zandvoort: Bjork sets combined practice pace for Cyan Racing

Thed Bjork WTCR Zandvoort 2019

Cyan Racing driver Thed Bjork set the pace across Friday's two World Touring Car Cup practice sessions at the returning Formula 1 Dutch Grand Prix venue Zandvoort.

The 2017 World Touring Car champion's table-topping effort in FP2 came as something of a surprise, as Bjork headed Yann Ehrlacher in a Cyan one-two despite the team's car being saddled with more weight ahead of this weekend's round.

The Lynk & Co 03 has received a 10kg increase in BoP weight for the Zandvoort event, although its maximum engine power has also been boosted from 97.5% to 100%.

Bjork was Cyan's lead representative in FP1, finishing eighth, and then topped the half-hour second practice session with a best time of 1m45.161s - which was 0.082 seconds clear of Ehlracher's late effort.

Norbert Michelisz, who sits third in the drivers' standings thanks to a run of three second-place finishes from the four most recent races, was another late improver in FP2 and ended up third in his BRC Racing Hyundai i30 N.

The Hungarian finished best of the rest ahead of the Sebastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen Golf GTIs of Johan Kristoffersson and Benjamin Leuchter.

A trio of Cupras - Comtoyou pair Aurelien Panis and Tom Coronel, plus PWR's Daniel Haglof - were next up, while Esteban Guerrieri (Munnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R) was the final driver to lap faster than KCMG Honda driver Attila Tassi's FP1 benchmark.

Tassi was fastest in the 45-minute opening session - which, like FP2, ran without incident - by three tenths from Coronel, with the Lukoil-backed BRC Hyundai of Augusto Farfus third.

Mikel Azcona (PWR Cupra) was fourth in that session, and rounded out a top 10 in FP2 that featured five of the seven brands.

WRT driver Jean-Karl Vernay was the fastest of the Audi RS3 LMS contingent in 11th, while Kevin Ceccon and his Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloca team-mate Ma Qing Hua were 17th and 18th.

FP1 Results

1Attila TassiKCMGHonda1m45.692s17
2Tom CoronelComtoyou CupraCupra0.303s18
3Augusto FarfusBRC Racing TeamHyundai0.358s17
4Mikel AzconaPWR RacingCupra0.384s20
5Daniel HaglofPWR RacingCupra0.422s12
6Benjamin LeuchterSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen0.648s15
7Nestor GirolamiMunnich MotorsportHonda0.691s17
8Thed BjorkCyan RacingLynk & Co0.760s15
9Esteban GuerrieriMunnich MotorsportHonda0.785s17
10Gabriele TarquiniBRC Squadra CorseHyundai0.801s15
11Andy PriaulxCyan PerformanceLynk & Co0.806s16
12Niels LangeveldComtoyou AudiAudi0.882s18
13Johan KristofferssonSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen0.949s14
14Norbert MicheliszBRC Squadra CorseHyundai0.981s17
15Yvan MullerCyan RacingLynk & Co0.981s15
16Tiago MonteiroKCMGHonda1.118s16
17Nicky CatsburgBRC Racing TeamHyundai1.193s17
18Yann EhrlacherCyan PerformanceLynk & Co1.242s16
19Aurelien PanisComtoyou CupraCupra1.278s17
20Jean-Karl VernayWRTAudi1.425s15
21Rob HuffSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagen1.437s14
22Mehdi BennaniSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagen1.540s14
23Ma Qing HuaTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo1.565s18
24Kevin CecconTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo1.649s18
25Frederic VervischComtoyou AudiAudi2.276s14
26Gordon SheddenWRTAudi3.221s15

FP2 results

1Thed BjorkCyan RacingLynk & Co1m45.161s12
2Yann EhrlacherCyan PerformanceLynk & Co0.082s10
3Norbert MicheliszBRC Squadra CorseHyundai0.168s13
4Johan KristofferssonSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen0.345s12
5Benjamin LeuchterSLR VolkswagenVolkswagen0.362s11
6Aurelien PanisComtoyou CupraCupra0.391s11
7Tom CoronelComtoyou CupraCupra0.451s10
8Daniel HaglofPWR RacingCupra0.466s13
9Esteban GuerrieriMunnich MotorsportHonda0.489s10
10Mikel AzconaPWR RacingCupra0.545s14
11Jean-Karl VernayWRTAudi0.572s10
12Niels LangeveldComtoyou AudiAudi0.582s13
13Nestor GirolamiMunnich MotorsportHonda0.582s11
14Andy PriaulxCyan PerformanceLynk & Co0.592s10
15Nicky CatsburgBRC Racing TeamHyundai0.735s13
16Yvan MullerCyan RacingLynk & Co0.737s9
17Kevin CecconTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo0.770s12
18Ma Qing HuaTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo0.824s11
19Attila TassiKCMGHonda0.842s12
20Augusto FarfusBRC Racing TeamHyundai0.888s11
21Frederic VervischComtoyou AudiAudi0.975s12
22Mehdi BennaniSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagen0.992s13
23Tiago MonteiroKCMGHonda1.012s11
24Gordon SheddenWRTAudi1.398s11
25Rob HuffSLR VW MotorsportVolkswagen1.487s9
26Gabriele TarquiniBRC Squadra CorseHyundai1.509s14

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed