Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Nasser Al-Attiyah claims Toyota's first Dakar Rally victory

Nasser Al-Attiyah wins Dakar 2019

Nasser Al-Attiyah has claimed a milestone first Dakar Rally win for Toyota in the 2019 edition of the race.

Al-Attiyah, who previously won the Dakar with Volkswagen in 2011 and Mini four years after that, switched to driving a Toyota Hilux ahead of the '17 race.

He retired early from his first attempt with the Japanese manufacturer, before finishing second to Peugeot's Carlos Sainz Sr in 2018 and then dominating this year's event in the works Peugeot team's absence.

Al-Attiyah led the general classification on each day of the rally but the second, when his Toyota team-mate Giniel de Villiers briefly headed the rankings instead before being ruled out of victory contention by a rock incident the day after.

As all of his other main rivals encountered numerous problems, Al-Attiyah's lead ballooned gradually.

On Thursday he completed the final 70-mile test between Pisco and Lima to win by 46m42s over nearest rival Nani Roma.

X-raid Mini driver Roma went without a stage win for a fourth consecutive Dakar, but was consistent enough to secure the runner-up spot with ease - taking his first podium finish in the marathon since his 2014 triumph.

Sebastien Loeb PH Peugeot Dakar 2019

Nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb rounded out the podium in his PH Sport-run privateer Peugeot 3008 DKR.

He topped the most stages in the class at four, but recurring reliability troubles and a major navigational mishap left him almost two hours adrift of Al-Attiyah at the finish.

Jakub Przygonski clinched his best Dakar finish yet in fourth place for X-raid Mini, while sometime WRC regular Martin Prokop did likewise with sixth place in his privateer Ford Raptor.

Cyril Despres was between them, ending up as the highest-placed of X-raid's three Mini buggies in fifth.

Mini drivers Yazeed Al-Rajhi and Boris Garafulic made up the top eight, ahead of Toyota pair de Villiers and Ronan Chabot.

After Stephane Peterhansel claimed the Mini buggy's first two Dakar stage wins but then retired from fourth place overall following a penultimate-day crash, squadmate Sainz beat Loeb by 42 seconds on the final day for his own maiden stage win in the buggy.

But Sainz's title defence had unravelled as early as stage three, and the two-time WRC champion ultimately placed only 13th.

Stage 10 times

1Carlos SainzX-Raid Mini John Cooper Works Rally TeamMini/BMW1h20m01.s
2Sebastien LoebPH-SportPeugeot42.s
3Cyril DespresX-Raid Mini John Cooper Works Rally TeamMini/BMW2m31.s
4Benediktas VanagasGeneral Financing Team PitlaneToyota3m38.s
5Jakub PrzygonskiOrlen Team / X-RaidMini/BMW3m41.s
6Nani RomaX-Raid TeamMini/BMW4m16.s
7Boris GarafulicX-Raid TeamMini/BMW5m53.s
8Pierre LachaumePH-SportPeugeot6m22.s
9Ronan ChabotOverdrive ToyotaToyota7m13.s
10Nicolas FuchsFord8m13.s

Leading finishers

1Nasser Al-AttiyahToyota Gazoo Racing South AfricaToyota34h38m14.s
2Nani RomaX-Raid TeamMini/BMW46m42.s
3Sebastien LoebPH-SportPeugeot1h54m18.s
4Jakub PrzygonskiOrlen Team / X-RaidMini/BMW2h28m31.s
5Cyril DespresX-Raid Mini John Cooper Works Rally TeamMini/BMW2h48m43.s
6Martin ProkopMP SportsFord3h19m02.s
7Yazeed Al-RajhiX-Raid TeamMini/BMW4h30m56.s
8Boris GarafulicX-Raid TeamMini/BMW7h57m58.s
9Giniel de VilliersToyota Gazoo Racing South AfricaToyota7h59m16.s
10Ronan ChabotOverdrive ToyotaToyota8h09m58.s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed