Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WTCR Macau: Rob Huff smashes TCR lap record to top practice

Rob Huff WTCR 2018 Macau

Rob Huff set a new TCR lap record of the Guia circuit to top World Touring Car Cup practice for this weekend's season finale in Macau.

Huff, a nine-time winner of the Guia race, set a best time of 2m29.766s in his Sebastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI in FP2 to head Thursday's second half-hour practice session by 0.533 seconds from Munnich Motorsport Honda Civic driver Yann Ehrlacher.

That benchmark time was more than 1.7s faster than the previous best TCR lap in Macau, which was also set by Huff when he contested the TCR International Series finale in 2015, although it had already been beaten in FP1 by WRT Audi driver Jean-Karl Vernay.

Vernay's fastest time in the first session, a 2m31.328s, had given him top spot by 0.575s from Esteban Guerrieri (Munnich Motorsport Honda), while Huff was third.

Title contender Yvan Muller, who is second overall but 39 points behind leader Gabriele Tarquini, ended FP2 in third in his YMR Hyundai i30 N ahead of Vernay's RS3 LMS and the second Golf of Mehdi Bennani.

Guerrieri ended FP2 sixth, 0.805s off the pace after improving on his final lap, ahead of 2017 World Touring Car champion Thed Bjork - who is also part of a group of seven drivers still in contention to claim the inaugural WTCR title.

Thed Bjork Macau WTCR 2018

BRC Racing Hyundai pair Norbert Michelisz and Tarquini were eighth and ninth, while Ma Qing Hua - making his third appearance of the season in place of Tiago Monteiro at Honda outfit Boutsen Ginion - rounded out the top 10.

Kevin Ceccon was the Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo operation's lead representative in FP2 in 12th, ahead of the highest-placed non-Hyundai driver in the points standings, Pepe Oriola (Campos Racing Cupra).

Andre Couto, the 2000 Macau Grand Prix winner, was the fastest of the six wildcard entrants contesting the event in FP2, lapping his MacPro Racing Honda Civic 6.264s slower than Huff's benchmark.

Kevin Tse Wing Kin (Audi RS3 LMS) had been fastest of the six additional entrants in first practice.

Practice one result

1Jean-Karl VernayWRTAudi2m31.328s11
2Esteban GuerrieriMunnich MotorsportHonda0.575s10
3Rob HuffSebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen0.969s10
4Yvan MullerYMRHyundai1.185s10
5Norbert MicheliszBRC Racing TeamHyundai1.430s10
6Yann EhrlacherMunnich MotorsportHonda1.472s11
7Thed BjorkYMRHyundai1.739s11
8Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen2.012s10
9Pepe OriolaCampos RacingCupra2.053s8
10Aurelien PanisComtoyou RacingAudi2.770s10
11Timo ScheiderMunnich MotorsportHonda2.931s11
12Gabriele TarquiniBRC Racing TeamHyundai2.965s10
13Nathanael BerthonComtoyou RacingAudi3.028s11
14John FilippiCampos RacingCupra3.202s8
15Mat'o HomolaDG Sport CompetitionPeugeot3.234s10
16Gordon SheddenWRTAudi3.399s10
17Luigi FerraraTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo3.886s10
18Frederic VervischComtoyou RacingAudi4.082s10
19Kevin CecconTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo4.278s10
20Aurelien ComteDG Sport CompetitionPeugeot4.553s11
21Ma Qing HuaBoutsen Ginion RacingHonda4.588s10
22Denis DupontComtoyou RacingAudi4.616s11
23Kevin TseTeam Work MotorsportAudi5.491s11
24Tom CoronelBoutsen Ginion RacingHonda5.894s10
25Filipe SouzaChamp MotorsportAudi6.124s6
26Andre CoutoMacPro Racing TeamHonda6.399s10
27Billy LoTian Shi Zuver TeamAudi6.952s9
28Rui ValentePCT Racing TeamVolkswagen11.630s10
29Kam San LamChamp MotorsportAudi14.254s8
30Zsolt SzaboZengo MotorsportCupra-2
31Norbert NagyZengo MotorsportCupra-0

Practice two result

1Rob HuffSebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen2m29.766s10
2Yann EhrlacherMunnich MotorsportHonda0.533s10
3Yvan MullerYMRHyundai0.682s9
4Jean-Karl VernayWRTAudi0.684s9
5Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen0.774s11
6Esteban GuerrieriMunnich MotorsportHonda0.805s10
7Thed BjorkYMRHyundai1.119s9
8Norbert MicheliszBRC Racing TeamHyundai1.247s9
9Gabriele TarquiniBRC Racing TeamHyundai1.828s9
10Ma Qing HuaBoutsen Ginion RacingHonda1.974s10
11Timo ScheiderMunnich MotorsportHonda2.058s10
12Kevin CecconTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo2.241s11
13Pepe OriolaCampos RacingCupra2.318s5
14Nathanael BerthonComtoyou RacingAudi2.468s10
15John FilippiCampos RacingCupra2.668s9
16Frederic VervischComtoyou RacingAudi2.785s9
17Luigi FerraraTeam MulsanneAlfa Romeo3.071s8
18Aurelien PanisComtoyou RacingAudi3.274s9
19Aurelien ComteDG Sport CompetitionPeugeot3.468s11
20Mat'o HomolaDG Sport CompetitionPeugeot3.539s8
21Gordon SheddenWRTAudi3.554s11
22Tom CoronelBoutsen Ginion RacingHonda4.009s10
23Denis DupontComtoyou RacingAudi5.098s4
24Andre CoutoMacPro Racing TeamHonda6.264s10
25Filipe SouzaChamp MotorsportAudi6.886s9
26Billy LoTian Shi Zuver TeamAudi7.779s10
27Kevin TseTeam Work MotorsportAudi8.622s10
28Norbert NagyZengo MotorsportCupra8.691s7
29Rui ValentePCT Racing TeamVolkswagen11.394s11
30Zsolt SzaboZengo MotorsportCupra11.516s5
31Kam San LamChamp MotorsportAudi13.314s9
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed