Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Max Verstappen wins Mexican Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton F1 champion

Max Verstappen Red Bull F1 2018

Lewis Hamilton clinched his fifth Formula 1 title despite failing to finish on the podium in the Mexican Grand Prix, which was won by Max Verstappen.

Poleman Daniel Ricciardo was swamped by team-mate Verstappen and Hamilton at the start and Verstappen went side-by-side with Hamilton to take the lead.

Verstappen breezed clear to a dominant victory ahead of the Ferraris of Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen as Hamilton slipped to fourth at the finish, but that was enough to clinch the championship with two races to go.

Hamilton went into the race at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez knowing he only needed to finish seventh to secure the title and did not need to finish at all if Vettel failed to win.

Vettel started fourth and briefly dropped to fifth at the start as Hamilton's Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas mugged him into Turn 1, but the Ferrari driver fought back aggressively at Turns 4 and 5 to reclaim fourth.

Hamilton tried to keep pace with Verstappen over the opening stint but gradually slipped back and came under pressure from Ricciardo, but held onto second until pitting on lap 11 of 71.

Ricciardo stopped on the next lap while Verstappen went one further, and the undercut gave Hamilton a brief reprieve from Ricciardo but not enough to come close to challenging Verstappen.

With the Dutchman looking untouchable out front, Hamilton started to be caught again by Ricciardo and Vettel after the long-running Ferraris finally stopped.

Hamilton edged clear again as the frontrunners negotiated heavy traffic, and a virtual safety car for Carlos Sainz Jr's stricken Renault - which had been comfortably in the points but suffered a complete shutdown - put a temporary hold on the Ricciardo/Vettel scrap behind.

It re-engaged after a couple of laps and more heavy traffic allowed Vettel to size up his former team-mate before, on lap 34, throwing a superb move inside Ricciardo under braking for the first corner.

Vettel was four seconds behind Hamilton at this stage but made rapid inroads as Mercedes struggled to keep its tyres alive.

Five laps after he cleared Ricciardo, Vettel passed Hamilton at the same place when Hamilton attempted to defend, locked up and skated across the grass.

Lewis Hamilton F1 2018 Mexico grass

Mercedes brought Hamilton into the pits on the same lap, with Bottas following suit having lost sixth to Raikkonen in an identical lock-up/off-track incident at Turn 1 moments after Hamilton's.

With the lead Mercedes out of the picture the race boiled down to a Red Bull vs Vettel fight, with Ferrari going aggressive by pitting Vettel for a fresh set of ultrasofts.

That brought him within 10 seconds of Verstappen once Red Bull brought him in for fresh supersofts, but Ricciardo stayed out and kept track position ahead of Vettel.

That stunted Vettel's bid to catch Verstappen and as Ricciardo's pace held up in the closing stages Vettel looked unable to get close enough to launch an attack.

However, with 10 laps ago smoke emerged from the rear of the Renault-powered Red Bull and Ricciardo went straight on at Turn 1, stopped and suffered his eighth retirement of the season.

Verstappen asked Red Bull if he needed to be worried or conserve the engine but he had a trouble-free run to the finish to record his second victory of the season.

Vettel and Raikkonen completed the podium as Hamilton struggled to fourth, frustrated with Mercedes' lack of pace compared to its rivals.

Hamilton's mood lifted swiftly, though, as he celebrated a fifth title that moves him level with Juan Manuel Fangio on the list of all-time championship successes.

Bottas completed the top five - a lap down - having stopped for a third time, setting the fastest lap of the race on hypersofts at the end.

Nico Hulkenberg finished sixth for the second race in a row as Renault secured best-of-the-rest honours behind the leading three teams.

Hulkenberg executed a one-stop strategy well to keep comfortably clear of Sauber's Charles Leclerc in seventh.

Stoffel Vandoorne produced an unexpected boost at the end of a difficult season by rising to eighth in his McLaren, ending a run of 14 races without points that stretches back to Azerbaijan in April.

Marcus Ericsson made it a double-points finish for Sauber in ninth to vault the Swiss team above Toro Rosso into eighth in the constructors' championship, despite Pierre Gasly rising from the back to score a solitary point.

Mexican GP result

1Max VerstappenRed Bull/Renault711h38m28.851s
2Sebastian VettelFerrari7117.316s
3Kimi RaikkonenFerrari7149.914s
4Lewis HamiltonMercedes711m18.738s
5Valtteri BottasMercedes701 Lap
6Nico HulkenbergRenault692 Laps
7Charles LeclercSauber/Ferrari692 Laps
8Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren/Renault692 Laps
9Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari692 Laps
10Pierre GaslyToro Rosso/Honda692 Laps
11Esteban OconForce India/Mercedes692 Laps
12Lance StrollWilliams/Mercedes692 Laps
13Sergey SirotkinWilliams/Mercedes692 Laps
14Brendon HartleyToro Rosso/Honda692 Laps
15Kevin MagnussenHaas/Ferrari692 Laps
16Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari683 Laps
-Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault61Hydraulics
-Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes38Brakes
-Carlos Sainz Jr.Renault28Electrical
-Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Renault3Accident

Drivers' standings

1Lewis Hamilton358
2Sebastian Vettel294
3Kimi Raikkonen236
4Valtteri Bottas227
5Max Verstappen216
6Daniel Ricciardo146
7Nico Hulkenberg69
8Sergio Perez57
9Kevin Magnussen53
10Fernando Alonso50
11Esteban Ocon49
12Carlos Sainz Jr.45
13Romain Grosjean31
14Pierre Gasly29
15Charles Leclerc27
16Stoffel Vandoorne12
17Marcus Ericsson9
18Lance Stroll6
19Brendon Hartley4
20Sergey Sirotkin1

Constructors' standings

3Red Bull/Renault362
7Force India/Mercedes47
9Toro Rosso/Honda33

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed