Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Germany: Toyota's Ott Tanak fastest on Thursday night

Ott Tanak Toyota WRC Germany 2018

Ott Tanak was fastest on Rally Germany's opening superspecial, despite the best efforts of a host of WRC2 drivers to upstage the World Rally Cars.

Last year asphalt ace Jan Kopecky stunned the World Rally Championship by leading outright in Germany following SS1.

He appeared set to repeat that feat as a string of factory World Rally Car drivers failed to beat his 2m11.8s time.

Kopecky was eventually pipped by Dani Sordo's Hyundai and then Toyota driver Tanak beat both to take the early rally lead.

Tanak, the dominant winner of the previous WRC round in Finland, felt the St Wendel stage was one of the worst and tightest superspecials he had ever experienced but still ended it fastest.

While Kopecky went in ahead of the WRC field in the start order, his Skoda team-mates Kalle Rovanpera and Ole-Christian Veiby ran later in the evening and did better still.

Rovanpera will start Friday second overall, just 0.1 seconds behind Tanak, with Veiby another tenth back in third.

Sordo and Kopecky rounded out the top five.

Championship leader Thierry Neuville was a relaxed 13th fastest, only 2s off Tanak's pace but demoted outside the top 10 by a gaggle of R5s later in the night.

Sebastien Ogier M-Sport Ford WRC Germany 2018

Neuville's title rival Sebastien Ogier headed for service seven places ahead in sixth, with Andreas Mikkelsen, Craig Breen and Esapekka Lappi the WRC runners between them.

Jari-Matti Latvala was only 15th in the remaining Toyota having clipped a hay bale and then briefly stopped.

Mads Ostberg brought up the rear of the WRC field and reported a lack of power in his Citroen.

Join Autosport for live coverage of Rally Germany on Friday from 9am UK time.

Leading times after SS1

1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota2m11.2s
2Kalle Rovanpera, J.HalttunenSkoda Motorsport IISkoda0.1s
3Ole-Christian Veiby, S.R.SkjaermoenPrintsport OySkoda0.2s
4Dani Sordo, C.del BarrioHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai0.4s
5Jan Kopecky, P.DreslerSkoda Motorsport IISkoda0.6s
6Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport Ford WRTFord0.9s
7Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai1.0s
8Craig Breen, S.MartinCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen1.1s
9Umberto Scandola, A.GaspariS.A. Motorsport Italia SRLSkoda1.3s
10Kajetan Kajetanowicz, M.SzczepaniakLotos Rally TeamFord1.4s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed