Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Finland: Tanak charges with clean sweep of stage wins

Sebastien Ogier Ford WRC FinlandOtt Tanak took charge of Rally Finland with a clean sweep of Saturday morning stage wins for the Toyota World Rally team.

On Friday Tanak had amazed rivals by emerging with a 5.4-second lead over Mads Ostberg's Citroen despite his third place in the start order giving him some of the worst stage conditions.

Eleventh on the road for Saturday, Tanak stretched his legs and dominated - setting the fastest time on all four of the first loop's stages and pulling 23.7s clear.

Though unable to match Tanak, Ostberg has still been faster than everyone else and is a comfortable 20.9s ahead of Tanak's third-placed team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala.

The third Toyota of Esapekka Lappi charged up the order from eighth to fifth during the morning.

He had ended Friday on the tail of M-Sport Ford team-mates Sebastien Ogier and Elfyn Evans, and quickly leapfrogged both when the rally resumed.

Lappi then hunted down the other Ford of Teemu Suninen and grabbed fifth from his fellow Finn on the loop's final stage. His next target Hayden Paddon is 13.6s ahead in fourth.

Sebastien Ogier Ford WRC FinlandAll three M-Sport drivers were unhappy with their cars on Saturday morning, with Ogier admitting he was making constant set-up changes as he tried to get the best out of the new aero package fitted to his Ford only.

He briefly fell behind Evans but was back in front of his team-mate into seventh by the time they headed for service.

Ogier is still three places ahead of his WRC title rival Thierry Neuville, who has made no progress from the distant 10th position his Friday error left him in.

Neuville had an immediate blow when Citroen's third driver Khalid Al-Qassimi crashed out early on the day's opening stage while running first on the road.

That meant Neuville only had Hyundai team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen - still among the WRC2 cars in the standings after his Friday error - cleaning the road ahead of him.

The championship leader has lost time to ninth-placed Craig Breen throughout the morning, with that gap now up to 44.4s.

Leading positions after SS15

1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota1h38m54.0s
2Mads Ostberg, T.EriksenCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen23.7s
3Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota44.6s
4Hayden Paddon, S.MarshallHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai1m16.5s
5Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota1m30.1s
6Teemu Suninen, M.MarkkulaM-Sport Ford WRTFord1m33.8s
7Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport Ford WRTFord1m52.7s
8Elfyn Evans, D.BarrittM-Sport Ford WRTFord1m54.6s
9Craig Breen, S.MartinCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen2m24.8s
10Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai3m09.2s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed