Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Andretti's Ryan Hunter-Reay leads Friday practice

Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Mid-Ohio IndyCar 2018

Ryan Hunter-Reay set the pace in IndyCar Friday practice at Mid-Ohio in his Andretti Autosport Dallara-Honda.

Hunter-Reay's 1m05.1950s in the afternoon session on the 'red' soft-compound tyres was only one second off Will Power's 2017 pole time with the high-downforce manufacturer aerokits.

It was also good enough to beat Power into second place on Friday by 0.1421 seconds.

Power had an eventful day that included involvement in an incident that brought morning practice to an early conclusion.

He spun in the closing minute of first practice as he had to swerve off line to avoid his Penske team-mate Simon Pagenaud - who was driving very slowly at Turn 9, the blind-crested right-hander.

Power let his broadside and stalled car roll backwards to get as far off the racing line as possible, but AJ Foyt driver Tony Kanaan was rammed off course by an unsighted Charlie Kimball in the confusion.

Kimball was parked for 15 minutes of practice two as a penalty for the incident, which caused the session to be red-flagged a minute early.

Charlie Kimball Tony Kanaan Will Power collision Mid-Ohio IndyCar practice 2018

In practice two, Power had a wild off-course excursion at Turn 4 as he came to the end of his run on the primary compound tyres, but the car was unharmed and on reds he swiftly bounced to the top of the times before being deposed by Hunter-Reay.

Local hero and 2015 winner Graham Rahal was third in afternoon, a mere 0.077s behind Power and only 0.0171s in front of Spencer Pigot, who again impressed for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Alexander Rossi and Marco Andretti made it three Andretti cars in the top 10, but the fourth car was less fortunate.

Zach Veach had an early spin at Turn 5, and although he kept the engine running he couldn't make it over the crest in the grass and his car beached itself.

He still ended the session 12th and top rookie using the softer tyres.

Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon and Ed Jones were seventh and eighth, while Josef Newgarden was another Penske driver who spun off the track without making contact with anything other than kerbing and grass. He finished the session in ninth.

Arguably the most impressive performance came from Jack Harvey, who finished 10th. The part-timer in the Michael Shank Racing entry wound up ahead of his Schmidt Peterson Motorsports team-mates.

Pietro Fittipaldi made his IndyCar return on Friday after his leg-breaking crash at Spa during the World Endurance Championship opener at the start of May.

He was 17th in the morning, 1.5s off his pacesetting Dale Coyne Racing team-mate Sebastien Bourdais, and then had his brake master-cylinder changed for practice two to make the brake pedal more sensitive and ease his recovering left leg.

Fittipaldi finished second practice 18th, only 0.4s behind Bourdais in 14th.

Bourdais had been quickest by 0.3383s over Newgarden in the opening session, with Dixon, Takuma Sato and Pigot completing the top five.

Other incidents in that session included Robert Wickens stopping with an engine failure having completed just six laps and a red flag for Matheus Leist running off course.

FP1 times

1Sebastien BourdaisDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1m05.5784s-11
2Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m05.9167s0.3383s15
3Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda1m06.2157s0.6373s13
4Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda1m06.2424s0.6640s13
5Spencer PigotEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m06.2546s0.6762s12
6Ed JonesChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda1m06.2717s0.6933s13
7Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m06.2758s0.6974s14
8James HinchcliffeSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda1m06.3287s0.7503s12
9Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda1m06.3541s0.7757s13
10Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m06.3956s0.8172s15
11Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m06.4026s0.8242s14
12Marco AndrettiAndretti HertaDallara/Honda1m06.6549s1.0765s13
13Matheus LeistAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet1m06.7972s1.2188s19
14Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m06.9006s1.3222s16
15Zach VeachAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m06.9459s1.3675s18
16Max ChiltonCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1m07.0122s1.4338s17
17Pietro FittipaldiDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1m07.0696s1.4912s11
18Tony KanaanAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet1m07.0699s1.4915s10
19Jordan KingEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m07.0837s1.5053s20
20Charlie KimballCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1m07.0932s1.5148s13
21Robert WickensSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda1m07.2767s1.6983s6
22Jack HarveyMeyer Shank RacingDallara/Honda1m07.3029s1.7245s15
23Rene BinderJuncos RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m07.4253s1.8469s19
24Conor DalyHarding RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m07.7274s2.1490s13

FP2 times

1Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m05.1950s-22
2Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m05.3371s0.1421s26
3Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda1m05.4141s0.2191s26
4Spencer PigotEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m05.4312s0.2362s20
5Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m05.4526s0.2576s28
6Marco AndrettiAndretti HertaDallara/Honda1m05.5836s0.3886s26
7Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda1m05.6063s0.4113s25
8Ed JonesChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Honda1m05.6223s0.4273s24
9Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m05.6585s0.4635s27
10Jack HarveyMeyer Shank RacingDallara/Honda1m05.7293s0.5343s23
11Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet1m05.8024s0.6074s24
12Zach VeachAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1m05.8061s0.6111s29
13Robert WickensSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda1m05.8191s0.6241s29
14Sebastien BourdaisDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1m05.9454s0.7504s24
15James HinchcliffeSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda1m06.1044s0.9094s27
16Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda1m06.1101s0.9151s25
17Max ChiltonCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1m06.2219s1.0269s26
18Pietro FittipaldiDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1m06.3349s1.1399s24
19Tony KanaanAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet1m06.3791s1.1841s19
20Matheus LeistAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Chevrolet1m06.3811s1.1861s28
21Jordan KingEd Carpenter RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m06.3998s1.2048s27
22Conor DalyHarding RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m06.5974s1.4024s24
23Charlie KimballCarlinDallara/Chevrolet1m07.0825s1.8875s23
24Rene BinderJuncos RacingDallara/Chevrolet1m07.2226s2.0276s33

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed