Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Di Grassi and Rosenqvist top Zurich Formule E practices

Lucas di Grassi Audi ABT Formula E Zurich ePrix 2018

Audi's Lucas di Grassi set the fastest time across the two practice sessions for today's Zurich E-Prix, the first motor racing event to take place in Switzerland since 1954.

Di Grassi set his best time in the opening 45-minute session - a 1m11.995s - as he opted to complete a 200kW run early in the day.

Championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne was eighth quickest in the combined times across the two sessions, with title rival Sam Bird one place ahead in seventh.

In hot and sunny conditions at the Zurich Street Circuit, which has been built on the shores of Lake Zurich and features the longest straight in FE history, most of the 20 drivers set their best times of the morning in the second 30-minute session.

Di Grassi finished that session 13th with his team-mate Daniel Abt 14th overall, 16th in the second running as the Audi squad concentrated on race simulations.

Mahindra's Felix Rosenqvist topped FP2 with a 1m12.207s, which was 0.212s slower than di Grassi's best overall, despite locking up and losing three tenths in the last sector.

Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing Formula E Zurich ePrix 2018

Mitch Evans (Jaguar) had a dramatic FP2 but topped the times for the most of the session.

He was usurped by Rosenqvist after their second full-power runs and although he improved his overall fastest time, wound up third overall.

Evans also shot down the Turn 1 escape road, which is situated at the end of the bumpy start-finish straight, and then rubbed the barriers approaching the Turn 7/8 chicane in the closing minutes.

Jerome D'Ambrosio was fourth fastest overall, just ahead of his Dragon team-mate Jose Maria Lopez, who was involved in incidents throughout the morning.

In FP1, he was being closely followed by Bird as the pair approached Turn 1 when the Virgin driver lost the rear of his car approaching the corner and spun into the outside wall- damaging the suspension on his car and leading to them later exchaning words in pitlane.

Lopez followed Evans down the escape road in the final minutes of FP2 and was able to escape, before he lost his car at the same corner in the dying seconds of the session and hit the left barrier side-on, although he was able to carry on.

Alex Lynn was sixth overall, with Andre Lotterer - who hit the rear of Nico Prost at Turn 10 during FP2, damaging the Renault e.dams driver's left-rear bodywork - ninth overall.

Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi rounded out the overall top 10 and spun into the tight left-hand Turn 4 barriers five minutes before FP2's end.

He hit the wall square on with the rear of his car and was able to carry on.

Oliver Turvey, 15th in the overall times, and Antonio Felix da Costa were the other drivers to set their best practice times in FP1.

Da Costa, 19th overall, did not set a timed lap for much of FP2, ending up slowest in that session, due to an issue his Andretti team is currently investigating.

FP1 times

1Lucas di GrassiAudiAudi1m11.995s
2Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar1.143s
3Daniel AbtAudiAudi1.397s
4Nelson Piquet Jr.JaguarJaguar1.403s
5Oliver TurveyNIONextEV NIO1.406s
6Sam BirdVirginDS Virgin1.576s
7Jean-Eric VergneTecheetahRenault1.584s
8Felix RosenqvistMahindraMahindra1.605s
9Sebastien Buemie.damsRenault1.733s
10Jose Maria LopezDragonPenske1.769s
11Andre LottererTecheetahRenault1.783s
12Antonio Felix da CostaAndrettiAndretti1.792s
13Jerome d'AmbrosioDragonPenske1.805s
14Nicolas Proste.damsRenault1.940s
15Alex LynnVirginDS Virgin2.038s
16Edoardo MortaraVenturiVenturi2.072s
17Nick HeidfeldMahindraMahindra2.134s
18Maro EngelVenturiVenturi2.274s
19Stephane SarrazinAndrettiAndretti2.755s
20Luca FilippiNIONextEV NIO2.947s

FP2 times

1Felix RosenqvistMahindraMahindra1m12.207s
2Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar0.054s
3Jerome d'AmbrosioDragonPenske0.388s
4Jose Maria LopezDragonPenske0.394s
5Alex LynnVirginDS Virgin0.413s
6Sam BirdVirginDS Virgin0.458s
7Jean-Eric VergneTecheetahRenault0.477s
8Andre LottererTecheetahRenault0.595s
9Sebastien Buemie.damsRenault0.641s
10Nelson Piquet Jr.JaguarJaguar0.688s
11Maro EngelVenturiVenturi0.704s
12Nick HeidfeldMahindraMahindra0.761s
13Lucas di GrassiAudiAudi1.018s
14Oliver TurveyNIONextEV NIO1.238s
15Edoardo MortaraVenturiVenturi1.268s
16Daniel AbtAudiAudi1.287s
17Stephane SarrazinAndrettiAndretti1.293s
18Nicolas Proste.damsRenault1.428s
19Luca FilippiNIONextEV NIO1.614s
20Antonio Felix da CostaAndrettiAndretti2.027s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed