Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Italy: Sebastien Ogier takes early lead in Sardinia

Sebastien Ogier

Sebastien Ogier took a largely symbolic World Rally Championship stage win on Rally Italy's opening superspecial, 0.1 seconds ahead of Andreas Mikkelsen in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta.

Thursday evening's Ittiri Arena Show was a short 1.2-mile test, with drivers already focused on the start of the rally proper on Friday morning.

Ogier still laid down an early marker after his zero points haul from Portugal, where he retired due to broken steering sending him off the road and into trees.

Mikkelsen behind was pushing very hard, picking up minor cosmetic damage to his Hyundai i20's left rear wheel arch and leaving body vinyl wrap hanging loose.

Championship leader Thierry Neuville was third fastest behind his Hyundai team-mate Mikkelsen, 0.7s from championship rival Ogier. It wasn't for a lack of trying, Neuville briefly popping up onto two wheels in a slow left hairpin.

Elfyn Evans went fourth fastest, 0.9s off his team-mate Ogier's pace, despite impaired visibility when his windscreen washers failed in the damp, muddy conditions on stage.

Hyundai managed three cars in top five positions, as Hayden Paddon went fifth quickest to begin what is only his second consecutive WRC start all season.

Esapekka Lappi was Toyota's leading contender in sixth, 1.7s off Ogier's benchmark. M-Sport's third driver Teemu Suninen split a Toyota pair, edging out Jari-Matti Latvala for seventh.

Fastest in the morning's shakedown, eighth-placed Latvala found a "couple of corners" more difficult than anticipated in his run through the arena stage's muddy conditions,

Part-time Citroen factory driver Mads Ostberg was ninth, ahead of the third Toyota of Ott Tanak in 10th.

De facto Citroen team leader Craig Breen estimated he "dropped five to eight seconds" after stalling at the stage startline, his 2m09.1s time slower than a pair of junior class drivers.

WRC veteran Jan Kopecky set the pace in the championship's WRC2 support category, 0.7s faster than his Skoda Motorsport team-mate Ole Christian Veiby.

Citroen factory driver Stephane Lefebvre, who was driving its WRC-specification C3 last year, was third quickest in WRC2 in the firm's new R5 car, 0.9s behind Kopecky.

Follow Rally Italy as it happens from 7.30am UK time Friday morning

Leading positions after SS1

1Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport Ford WRTFord2m02.7s
2Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai0.1s
3Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai0.7s
4Elfyn Evans, D.BarrittM-Sport Ford WRTFord0.9s
5Hayden Paddon, S.MarshallHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai1.6s
6Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota1.7s
7Teemu Suninen, M.MarkkulaM-Sport Ford WRTFord1.8s
8Mads Ostberg, T.EriksenCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen1.9s
8Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota1.9s
10Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota2.5s

 Earlier WRC story More news Next WRC story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed