Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

F2 Monaco: Fuoco resists Norris to win attritional second race

Antonio Fuoco Formula 2 Monaco Sprint Race

Antonio Fuoco gave the Ferrari-affiliated Charouz Racing System team its first Formula 2 win after a lights-to-flag victory in the Monaco sprint race.

The race featured several high-profile incidents, with multiple periods under the safety car.

McLaren 2018 Formula 1 reserve driver Lando Norris extended his championship lead with second place, while Mercedes junior George Russell crashed out for the second race in a row.

The early running was truncated by a virtual safety car, after a spate of incidents at the start.

Luca Ghiotto hit the stalled Russian Time machine of Tadasuke Makino, while Nyck de Vries also failed to get off the line.

Norris, who started third and jumped Jack Aitken on the run to Turn 1 - was much more committed in the early stages than polesitter Fuoco in the Swimming Pool section and was on the back of the Ferrari F1 junior for the early running.

But Norris backed off to around two seconds behind Fuoco on lap 15 of 30 in a bid to save his tyres and close back in during the later stages.

A VSC for Russell's crash at the exit of the Swimming Pool section - the ART driver made a mistake on the curb that sent his car into the outside wall - on lap 20 then caught out Norris.

This was because the green flag came out just a lap later while Fuoco accelerated rounding Portier and thus had a full-speed run down the straight, whereas Norris still had to navigate the corner.

Fuoco enjoyed some breathing space, but a late safety car added to the drama after a crash between Alexander Albon and Roy Nissany on the run to the Nouvelle Chicane.

UPDATE: Post-race penalties affect multiple drivers

But Fuoco survived to win by 1.1s and make it a 1-3 for F2 newcomer Charouz, as Louis Deletraz executed a spectacular race to hold onto the final spot on podium over charging feature race winner Artem Markelov.

After an adventurous move on Arjun Maini on lap 17, Markelov, who had rocketed up the order from eighth on the grid with a rapid start, took fourth and set about pulling in Deletraz, by that stage struggling to change gear with no information displaying on his steering wheel.

Markelov tortured the ailing Deletraz by attempting a move at almost every corner on the track for over 10 laps.

The Russian Time driver threatened to undo his brilliant work with an ill-conceived and poorly executed move at the final turn, hitting Deletraz, and after that he was less bullish.

But fourth place, and his feature win, still means Markelov enters the battle for the championship as he is up to joint second place in the standings.

Roberto Merhi realised his pre-race expectation of a top five, ahead of Maini.

Sean Gelael crash Monaco F2 2018

Friday's second-place finisher Sean Gelael also failed to finish as he hit the wall at the exit of the first chicane at the Swimming Pool on lap five.

His car was launched into the air after he ran wide and hit the kerb at the corner entry and he ploughed into the wall at high speed, and was sent to the medical centre.

Aitken was an early retiree after a throttle pedal problem, which meant that out of the top five drivers in the championship only Markelov and Norris finished.

Albon - now level with Markelov on points - was far quicker than Nissany during their battle towards the end of the race, but the DAMS driver misjudged his speed and smashed into the back of the Campos Racing-run car at the exit of the tunnel as they approached the chicane.

Alexander Albon crash Monaco F2 2018

Results - 30 laps

1Antonio FuocoCharouz Racing System3048m45.173s
2Louis DeletrazCharouz Racing System301.269s
3Lando NorrisCarlin301.472s
4Artem MarkelovRUSSIAN TIME303.291s
5Arjun MainiTrident306.649s
6Maximilian GuntherBWT Arden307.155s
7Roberto MerhiMP Motorsport3010.299s
8Nicholas LatifiDAMS3011.442s
9Nyck de VriesPertamina Prema Theodore Racing291 Lap
10Luca GhiottoCampos Vexatec Racing291 Lap
11Nirei FukuzumiBWT Arden273 Laps
12Santino FerrucciTrident273 Laps
-Roy NissanyCampos Vexatec Racing25Retirement
-Alexander AlbonDAMS25Retirement
-Ralph BoschungMP Motorsport20Retirement
-George RussellART Grand Prix18Retirement
-Sean GelaelPertamina Prema Theodore Racing3Retirement
-Tadasuke MakinoRUSSIAN TIME2Retirement
-Jack AitkenART Grand Prix1Retirement

Drivers' championship

1Lando Norris98
2Artem Markelov71
3Alexander Albon71
4George Russell62
5Jack Aitken49
6Nyck de Vries46
7Sergio Sette Camara46
8Antonio Fuoco39
9Sean Gelael29
10Nicholas Latifi26
11Louis Deletraz24
12Roberto Merhi23
13Luca Ghiotto22
14Arjun Maini22
15Maximilian Gunther20
16Ralph Boschung10
17Santino Ferrucci4
18Tadasuke Makino4
19Nirei Fukuzumi2
20Roy Nissany0

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed