Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

All F1 teams except Ferrari commit to 2018 eSports series

F1 esports event London 2017

This year's Formula 1 eSports series will include an official entry from nine of the 10 world championship teams, with Ferrari the only outfit that will not participate.

F1 launched its first eSports series last year and will continue to use the Codemasters-developed F1 2017 video game for this year's contest.

The format of the F1 eSports series has been significantly altered for 2018 and will be split into two parts.

Competitors will contest four qualifying events in a bid to win a place in a selection process called the Pro Draft, during which Mercedes, Red Bull, Force India, Williams, Renault, Haas, Toro Rosso, McLaren and Sauber will select at least one driver for their own teams.

The qualifiers, which begin on April 13, will not be simple time trials or races.

For the first event players must start the final five laps of the Chinese Grand Prix as Valtteri Bottas in sixth place and attempt to score a podium on a wet but drying track.

The fastest 10 players on each of the game's three platforms - PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC - will then contest a live-streamed final, with the top three from each qualifying for the Pro Draft.

They will be guaranteed a slot with one of the nine F1 teams, while a pool of 40 drivers will be determined from the qualifiers and a 'wildcard' stage and be available for selection as well.

Once the teams have made their picks, the chosen drivers will take part in three live events to determine drivers' and teams' world champions, with a prize fund of "at least" $200,000 at stake.

Last year's inaugural F1 eSports series was won by British competitor Brendon Leigh.

This is not the first time individual teams have engaged in eSports - McLaren set up its World's Fastest Gamer competition and Renault has its own team - but it is the first time F1 has drafted it teams for collective participation.

Official entries in the 2018 F1 eSports series

Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport
Red Bull Racing
Hype Energy eForce India
Williams F1 Esports Team
Renault Sport Team Vitality
Haas F1 Esports Team
Toro Rosso
Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed