Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Josh Cook returns to Power Maxed BTCC team for 2018 season

Josh Cook

Josh Cook will rejoin the Power Maxed Racing team to drive a factory-blessed Vauxhall Astra in the British Touring Car Championship in 2018.

Cook made his BTCC debut with the PMR team in 2015 and scored a podium finish at Rockingham on his way to 15th in the standings.

Since then, he has raced with the Triple Eight MG team and had a short spell in the Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus last season.

Cook says the progress made by PMR, which built and ran the Astra for 2017, has tempted him to return.

The squad won the rookie-based Jack Sears Trophy last term with Senna Proctor, and took two outright podiums with Tom Chilton and Rob Huff.

"I am so happy to be returning home to PMR," said Cook. "I always wanted to stay after winning the Jack Sears Trophy with them in both of our first years in the championship (pictured below), but things just didn't line up.

Josh Cook

"I have watched them closely and visited the premises recently and there is no doubt that the team has managed to improve massively - investment has gone into all areas.

"The Astra looks so well built and I am excited."

Power Maxed Racing boss Adam Weaver added: "I am delighted to welcome Josh back to PMR. We are a very different organisation to those early days and Josh has also developed as a driver."

Details of the second Power Maxed Racing driver have yet to be released.

The Astra is in an interim livery at Autosport International, and the final colour scheme for 2018 will be unveiled at the BTCC's media day at Donington Park on March 27.

2018 BTCC line-up so far

Team BMR Subaru Levorg: Ash Sutton
WSR BMW: Colin Turkington, Rob Collard, Andrew Jordan
Team Dynamics Honda Civic: Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal
Eurotech Racing Honda Civic: Jack Goff, Matt Simpson
Motorbase Performance Ford Focus: Tom Chilton
HMS Racing Alfa Romeo Giulietta: Rob Austin
BTC Norlin Honda Civic: Chris Smiley
Team Hard Volkswagen CC: Jake Hill, Mike Bushell, Michael Caine, Bobby Thompson
AmD Tuning Audi S3: Ollie Jackson, Sam Smelt

 Earlier BTCC story More news Next BTCC story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed