Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WEC Bahrain: Tandy, Jani score final Porsche LMP1 pole

Jani Tandy Porsche LMP1 Bahrain WEC 2017

Nick Tandy and Neel Jani claimed a final World Endurance Championship pole position for Porsche before it bows out of LMP1 after this weekend's Bahrain round.

The drivers of the #1 Porsche 919 Hybrid beat the best of the Toyotas to the top of the timesheets by nearly three tenths of a second.

Tandy had trailed Mike Conway in the #7 Toyota TS050 HYBRID by more than a second in the first runs after making a mistake on his lap.

Jani then posted the fastest time of the session with a 1m39.084s, which prompted Porsche to send Tandy back out for a second run.

The Briton improved to a 1m39.683s, which gave the #1 Porsche a 1m39.383s average.

Jose Maria Lopez was nearly seven tenths slower than Jani, which left the #8 Toyota in second with a 1m39.646s average.

Tandy said: "It was Neel's lap that made us think let's go for pole — when I saw 39.0, I thought, 'Wow'.

"What a great result for our last weekend."

Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard took third place with a 1m40.011s average, while Kazuki Nakajima and Anthony Davidson were fourth in the Toyota that has won the past two WEC rounds.

Andre Negrao and Gustavo Menezes took LMP2 pole for the Signatech Alpine squad.

Negrao was second fastest after the first runs aboard the French team's ORECA-Gibson 07 while Menezes lapped within three tenths of his team-mate's time.

That consistency gave them a 1m47.227s average and pole by four tenths.

Ho-Pin Tung struggled in the best of the Jackie Chan DC Racing ORECAs on the first runs, but Thomas Laurent was able to leapfrog the car up to second after setting the quickest lap of the second batch of drivers.

Their average of 1m47.612s put them just over a tenth up on the championship-leading Rebellion ORECA qualified by Bruno Senna and Julien Canal.

AF Corse Ferrari drivers Davide Rigon and Sam Bird claimed a fourth GTE Pro pole of the year.

Rigon posted the fastest time in class with a 1m56.021s in the first runs and then Bird was only a couple of hundredths slower as they set end up on a 1m59.033ss average aboard the #71 Ferrari 488 GTE.

That put them three tenths up on Aston Martin duo Darren Turner and Jonny Adam, who claimed second position with a 1m56.372s average.

Ford's Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell were the highest-placed pairing with a realistic chance of taking the title in third place.

Their average in the #67 Ganassi Ford GT ended up on a 1m56.463s average, which put them four tenths up on points leaders James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi in the #51 AF Ferrari.

Frederic Makowiecki and Richard Lietz, who lie second in the points, were only sixth fastest in their factory Porsche 911 RSR.

Pedro Lamy and Paul Dalla Lana took a seventh GTE Am class pole of the season in their Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

Starting grid

1LMP1N.Jani, A.Lotterer, N.TandyPorsche LMP TeamPorsche1m39.383s
2LMP1M.Conway, K.Kobayashi, J.M.LopezToyota Gazoo RacingToyota0.263s
3LMP1T.Bernhard, E.Bamber, B.HartleyPorsche LMP TeamPorsche0.628s
4LMP1S.Buemi, A.Davidson, K.NakajimaToyota Gazoo RacingToyota1.391s
5LMP2N.Lapierre, G.Menezes, A.NegraoSignatech Alpine MatmutAlpine/Gibson7.844s
6LMP2H-Pin Tung, O.Jarvis, T.LaurentJackie Chan DC RacingORECA/Gibson8.229s
7LMP2J.Canal, N.Prost, B.SennaVaillante RebellionORECA/Gibson8.338s
8LMP2R.Rusinov, L.Roussel, L.DuvalG-Drive RacingORECA/Gibson8.606s
9LMP2R.Gonzalez, S.Trummer, V.PetrovCEFC Manor TRS RacingORECA/Gibson8.793s
10LMP2M.Rao, B.Hanley, J-E.VergneCEFC Manor TRS RacingORECA/Gibson8.991s
11LMP2F.Perrodo, M.Vaxiviere, E.CollardTDS RacingORECA/Gibson9.003s
12LMP2M.Beche, D.H.Hansson, N.Piquet Jr.Vaillante RebellionORECA/Gibson9.004s
13LMP2D.Cheng, A.Brundle, T.GommendyJackie Chan DC RacingORECA/Gibson9.719s
14GTE ProD.Rigon, S.BirdAF CorseFerrari16.650s
15GTE ProD.Turner, J.AdamAston Martin RacingAston Martin16.989s
16GTE ProA.Priaulx, H.TincknellFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord17.080s
17GTE ProJ.Calado, A.P.GuidiAF CorseFerrari17.498s
18GTE ProN.Thiim, M.SorensenAston Martin RacingAston Martin17.636s
19GTE ProR.Lietz, F.MakowieckiPorsche GT TeamPorsche18.133s
20GTE ProM.Christensen, K.EstrePorsche GT TeamPorsche18.139s
21GTE AmP.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.LaudaAston Martin RacingAston Martin20.728s
22GTE AmMok W.S., K.Sawa, M.GriffinClearwater RacingFerrari20.902s
23GTE AmC.Ried, M.Cairoli, M.DienstDempsey-Proton RacingPorsche21.012s
24GTE AmT.Flohr, F.Castellacci, M.MolinaSpirit of RaceFerrari21.969s
25GTE ProS.Mucke, O.PlaFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord18.205s
26GTE AmM.Wainwright, B.Barker, N.FosterGulf RacingPorsche-

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed