Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Monza F2: Ghiotto surges to victory as title rivals fail to score

Luca Ghiotto Russian Time F2 Monza

Russian Time's Luca Ghiotto won a breathless Formula 2 sprint race at Monza ahead of Sergio Sette Camara and Antonio Fuoco.

Ghiotto, who won yesterday's feature race on the road before being demoted to fourth with a post-race penalty, charged up from fifth on the grid with a series of determined passes to seal his second GP2/F2 victory.

Championship leader Charles Leclerc fought his way to ninth after being involved in a late-race crash in the feature event, but could not score a point, while his title rival Oliver Rowland made his way up to 11th from 19th on the grid.

At the start, Sean Gelael made a lightening getaway to rise from fourth to lead into Turn 1 ahead of Louis Deletraz, as polesitter Gustav Malja made slow progress off the line.

Gelael led the early laps before he was overhauled by Deletraz on the run to Turn 1 at the start of lap four of 21.

Ghiotto began his charge by demoting Malja to fifth and then made his way into the top three as Sette Camara and Gelael fought over second on the exit of the Roggia chicane.

In a thrilling exchange, Sette Camara got ahead of Gelael on the approach to Lesmo one, where Ghiotto forcefully got by the Indonesian driver too, and Nicholas Latifi did likewise at the second Lesmo.

Ghiotto then took second when Sette Camara went wide at the Roggia and set about catching Deletraz.

He did so at the start of lap 11, pressuring the Rapax driver at Turn 1 before getting into first with a better run out of the Roggia.

From there, Ghiotto edged clear into the lead and eventually took the chequered flag with a margin of 2.2 seconds over Sette Camara, who demoted Deletraz to third with a DRS-assisted move into Turn 1 on lap 12.

Fuoco, who inherited the race one win, made steady progress up the order from eighth on the grid and eventually caught and passed Deletraz for third place with a textbook move into Turn 1 late on.

Deletraz held onto fourth ahead of his team-mate Roberto Merhi and Gelael, as Nobuharu Matsushita and Alexander Albon eventually claimed the final two points-paying places after seemingly never ending mid-pack scrap.

Leclerc was in the thick of the action after shooting up from 17th early on and he fought the ART Grand Prix cars hard as they came through the pack.

But the championship leader sustained damage challenging Latifi - who tumbled down the order after running high up early on - and he could not finish off his charge to the points.

Rowland also made good progress early on, attacking Leclerc at the Lesmos before dropping back, but could only rise as far as 11th, one spot ahead of Nyck de Vries.

Artem Markelov ended up 15th, just ahead of Latifi, following a late-race clash with Jordan King that sent the Briton across the gravel between the Lesmos, and he eventually came home 20th and last.

Race two result

1Luca GhiottoRUSSIAN TIME33m15.078s
2Sergio Sette CamaraMP Motorsport2.296s
3Antonio FuocoPrema Racing4.505s
4Louis DeletrazRapax6.246s
5Roberto MerhiRapax11.803s
6Sean GelaelPertamina Arden17.305s
7Nobuharu MatsushitaART Grand Prix20.010s
8Alexander AlbonART Grand Prix20.588s
9Charles LeclercPrema Racing23.263s
10Norman NatoPertamina Arden23.704s
11Oliver RowlandDAMS27.419s
12Nyck de VriesRacing Engineering29.307s
13Ralph BoschungCampos Racing29.659s
14Santino FerrucciTrident29.906s
15Artem MarkelovRUSSIAN TIME32.045s
16Nicholas LatifiDAMS32.965s
17Nabil JeffriTrident33.237s
18Gustav MaljaRacing Engineering57.447s
19Robert VisoiuCampos Racing1m00.129s
20Jordan KingMP Motorsport1m06.302s

Drivers' standings

1Charles Leclerc218
2Oliver Rowland159
3Artem Markelov152
4Luca Ghiotto150
5Nicholas Latifi132
6Nobuharu Matsushita115
7Nyck de Vries96
8Norman Nato91
9Antonio Fuoco77
10Alexander Albon66
11Jordan King50
12Gustav Malja44
13Sergio Sette Camara43
14Sergio Canamasas21
15Sean Gelael17
16Johnny Cecotto Jr.16
17Roberto Merhi16
18Louis Deletraz15
19Ralph Boschung11
20Sergey Sirotkin9
21Santino Ferrucci4
22Robert Visoiu1
23Nabil Jeffri0
24Stefano Coletti0
25Callum Ilott0
26Raffaele Marciello0

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed