Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Watkins Glen IndyCar: Scott Dixon tops third practice for Ganassi

Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon set the fastest time in third practice for Sunday's IndyCar race at Watkins Glen ahead of Alexander Rossi.

Ryan Hunter-Reay completed the top three, with Helio Castroneves in fourth.

Dixon, who also topped second practice on Friday, waited until late-on in the 45-minute session to show his true pace, as his best time of 1m22.644s came with just five minutes remaining.

Rossi's fastest lap was just 0.022s slower than Dixon, with his Andretti Autosport team-mate Hunter-Reay a further 0.393s back.

Castroneves ended up as the fastest of the Chevrolet-powered runners, albeit over half a second behind Dixon's best effort.

Sebastien Bourdais, who is returning to action at a road course race for the first time since his violent crash at the Indianapolis 500 in May, rounded out the top five despite spinning on his final lap.

Takuma Sato finished in sixth fastest, ahead of first practice pacesetter Graham Rahal.

Championship leader Josef Newgarden could only manage eighth fastest, as he had visible issues with understeer and traction over the course of the session.

Newgarden's Penske team-mate Simon Pagenaud was eighth, and Charlie Kimball rounded out the top 10.

Several star drivers ended up well down the field - Tony Kanaan was 12th, while Will Power and James Hinchcliffe could only manage the 16th and 17th fastest times.

1Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing1m22.6441s13
2Alexander RossiAndretti Herta0.0220s18
3Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport0.4156s13
4Helio CastronevesTeam Penske0.5879s16
5Sebastien BourdaisDale Coyne Racing0.5965s14
6Takuma SatoAndretti Autosport0.6950s15
7Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan0.7158s18
8Josef NewgardenTeam Penske0.7485s19
9Simon PagenaudTeam Penske0.8065s16
10Charlie KimballChip Ganassi Racing0.8159s18
11Conor DalyAJ Foyt Enterprises1.0444s19
12Tony KanaanChip Ganassi Racing1.1270s16
13Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport1.1416s18
14Spencer PigotEd Carpenter Racing1.2204s14
15Carlos MunozAJ Foyt Enterprises1.3277s15
16Will PowerTeam Penske1.3746s15
17James HinchcliffeSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1.5099s16
18Ed JonesDale Coyne Racing1.6871s19
19Jack HarveySchmidt Peterson Motorsports1.7077s18
20Max ChiltonChip Ganassi Racing2.1308s17
21J.R. HildebrandEd Carpenter Racing2.1689s18

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed