Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

McLaren's 1988 MP4/4 voted fans' favourite Formula 1 car

Ayrton Senna McLaren F1 1988

McLaren's dominant 1988 MP4/4 has won a fan vote aimed at discovering what is the most popular Formula 1 car of all time.

During F1's summer break, Autosport ran a 'World Cup' style voting competition, pitting F1 cars from throughout the world championship era against each other to determine a winner.

After progressing through the early rounds with comfortable victories, the MP4/4 faced competition from the 1992 Williams FW14B, the 1991 Jordan 191, and the 2005 McLaren MP4-20 in the final, with voting open for 24 hours and concluding on Wednesday.

Free feature: The origins of McLaren-Honda's greatest racer

The car that famously won 15 of 16 races in 1988 in the hands of Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost claimed 35% of the vote, compared to 27% for the Williams and 20% for the Jordan, with the more recent McLaren finishing fourth.

To celebrate the McLaren's victory, Autosport has dug into its archives and re-released a feature on the origins of the MP4/4, which can now be read for free.

Choices from the Autosport office and social media contributions resulted in 148 cars initially being nominated for the competition, from which the top 32 were selected and randomly drawn into eight groups of four for the opening round.

Autosport F1 car World Cup group stage results

The winner of each group progressed to the penultimate stage, with the top two in each semi-final progressing to this week's final.

While the MP4/4 won the opening semi-final, there was a tie for second place between the Williams FW14B and the Brawn BGP 001, which were then pitched head to head for an extra hour of voting to decide the second finalist - with the 1993 Williams FW15C a distant fourth.

The McLaren MP4-20 and the Jordan progressed relatively comfortably from the second semi-final, defeating the 1990 and 1995 Ferraris. In total, nearly 30,000 votes were cast by fans throughout the competition.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed