Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Knockhill BTCC: BMW's Colin Turkington set fastest time in practice

Turkington Knockhill BTCC 2017

Colin Turkington set the fastest time over the two free practice sessions ahead of Saturday's British Touring Car Championship qualifying session at Knockhill.

The Northern Irishman left it late in the second 40-minute period - which had been briefly red-flagged to replace a dislodged foam track edge marker - to record the fastest laptime with a 52.336s.

The double champion and WSR BMW 125i M Sport driver was just 0.046s ahead of the Team BMR Subaru of Ash Sutton, while Sutton's team-mate James Cole turned heads with the third fastest time.

Matt Neal was another to leave it late to bank his lap, leaping up to fourth spot with a 52.479s in his Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type-R.

Jack Goff, in a Eurotech Racing Civic, was fifth.

Andrew Jordan, who had a coil pack change between the first and second sessions, placed sixth in his WSR BMW, ahead of BMR's Jason Plato and local driver Aiden Moffat in his Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class.

Championship leader Gordon Shedden could only manage 11th in his Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type-R.

Mike Epps (Team Hard VW CC) was forced to stop with a power steering problem, while the Triple Eight car of Josh Cook was also unable to complete the session with an oil leak.

The team is facing a race against time to change the engine on the MG6 before qualifying, which takes place at 1610hrs.

Tom Ingram had topped the opening 40-minute session in a wet-but-drying session with a 53.425s.

Sutton led for much of the early running ahead of team-mate Plato, before the track began to dry and others bolted on slick tyres.

Goff, whose wing mirror fell off during the session, was second quickest.

Mat Jackson (Motorbase Performance Ford Focus) was third in the opening practice while WSR's Rob Collard was fourth.

Senna Proctor (Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall Astra) stopped his car on circuit late on in the session when he felt something loose in the back of the machine and parked up on the pit exit to avoid further problems.

FP1 times

1Tom IngramSpeedworks MotorsportToyota53.425s
2Jack GoffEurotech RacingHonda0.642s
3Mat JacksonMotorbaseFord0.681s
4Rob CollardWSRBMW0.898s
5Dave NewshamBTC RacingChevrolet1.051s
6Adam MorganCiceley RacingMercedes1.112s
7Gordon SheddenDynamics/HondaHonda1.143s
8Chris SmileyBTC RacingChevrolet1.149s
9Tom ChiltonPower Maxed RacingVauxhall1.167s
10James ColeTeam BMRSubaru1.301s
11Jake HillTeam HardVolkswagen1.427s
12Rory ButcherMotorbaseFord1.570s
13Aiden MoffatLaser Tools RacingMercedes1.594s
14Rob AustinHandy MotorsportToyota1.772s
15Stephen JelleyTeam Parker RacingFord2.000s
16Michael EppsTeam HardVolkswagen3.301s
17Aron Taylor-SmithTriple Eight/MGMG3.321s
18Jason PlatoTeam BMRSubaru3.346s
19Josh CookTriple Eight/MGMG3.611s
20Ash SuttonTeam BMRSubaru3.685s
21Will BurnsTeam HardVolkswagen3.734s
22Colin TurkingtonWSRBMW4.107s
23Ollie JacksonAmD TuningAudi4.231s
24Senna ProctorPower Maxed RacingVauxhall4.480s
25Andrew JordanWSRBMW4.541s
26Stewart LinesMaximum MotorsportFord4.565s
27Matt SimpsonDynamics/HondaHonda4.631s
28Matt NealDynamics/HondaHonda4.649s
29Brett SmithEurotech RacingHonda4.732s
30Martin DepperMotorbaseFord4.923s
31Ant Whorton-EalesAmD TuningAudi4.986s
32Josh PriceTeam BMRSubaru5.121s

FP2 times

1Colin TurkingtonWSRBMW52.336s
2Ash SuttonTeam BMRSubaru0.046s
3James ColeTeam BMRSubaru0.139s
4Matt NealDynamics/HondaHonda0.143s
5Jack GoffEurotech RacingHonda0.176s
6Andrew JordanWSRBMW0.227s
7Jason PlatoTeam BMRSubaru0.238s
8Aiden MoffatLaser Tools RacingMercedes0.277s
9Rob CollardWSRBMW0.327s
10Ant Whorton-EalesAmD TuningAudi0.335s
11Gordon SheddenDynamics/HondaHonda0.349s
12Adam MorganCiceley RacingMercedes0.411s
13Tom IngramSpeedworks MotorsportToyota0.422s
14Josh PriceTeam BMRSubaru0.426s
15Chris SmileyBTC RacingChevrolet0.449s
16Ollie JacksonAmD TuningAudi0.461s
17Senna ProctorPower Maxed RacingVauxhall0.487s
18Tom ChiltonPower Maxed RacingVauxhall0.489s
19Aron Taylor-SmithTriple Eight/MGMG0.533s
20Matt SimpsonDynamics/HondaHonda0.536s
21Rob AustinHandy MotorsportToyota0.543s
22Mat JacksonMotorbaseFord0.564s
23Dave NewshamBTC RacingChevrolet0.645s
24Rory ButcherMotorbaseFord0.776s
25Jake HillTeam HardVolkswagen0.874s
26Will BurnsTeam HardVolkswagen0.896s
27Michael EppsTeam HardVolkswagen1.019s
28Stephen JelleyTeam Parker RacingFord1.032s
29Martin DepperMotorbaseFord1.125s
30Brett SmithEurotech RacingHonda1.354s
31Stewart LinesMaximum MotorsportFord1.547s
32Josh CookTriple Eight/MGMG2.042s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed