Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Marc Marquez dominates MotoGP Brno race with clever strategy

Marc Marquez wins MotoGP Brno 2017

Marc Marquez took a dominant third victory of the MotoGP season at Brno, timing his pitstop to perfection on a drying track to outfox his championship rivals.

With the race beginning on a damp track but the sun shining, it seemed only a matter of time before the field would have to switch to dry tyres, all 23 riders opting to go with wets for the start.

Poleman Marquez was alone in the top eight in opting to run a soft wet rear tyre, and he lost the lead to the Ducati's Jorge Lorenzo at Turn 5 on the opening lap before quickly dropping down the order.

The factory Honda man had sunk to the bottom of the top 10 when he pitted at the end of the second lap for his dry-shod bike, a decision which proved to be a masterstroke.

Several other riders came in the following lap, but none of the leading group, with Lorenzo leading Valentino Rossi, Andrea Dovizioso and a fast-starting Johann Zarco out front.

Lorenzo finally came in at the end of lap four after losing the lead to Rossi, but dropped well down the order as his second bike hadn't been fired up when he arrived at the Ducati pit.

That left Rossi, Dovizioso and Zarco out front, but they were losing anywhere from eight to 10 seconds a lap to Marquez, who was already setting a scintillating pace on slicks.

Rossi and Dovizioso finally bailed for their dry-shod bikes on lap five, with Zarco staying out an extra lap and being passed for the lead by the much faster Marquez.

With a 20-second lead over his nearest opposition, it was a simple case of reeling off the remaining laps for Marquez, who ended up 12.4s clear at the finish for the 32nd MotoGP victory of his career.

Dani Pedrosa, who was among those to follow Lorenzo into the pits on lap four, soon picked off Karel Abraham, Scott Redding and Aleix Espargaro to complete a Honda one-two.

A further 5.6s back at the finish was Maverick Vinales on the best of the works Yamahas, the Spaniard having pitted on the same lap as Lorenzo and Pedrosa before recovering to third after passing the LCR Honda of Cal Crutchlow, who was on the same strategy.

In the closing laps, Crutchlow found himself caught by Rossi, the Italian finding a way through at Turn 5 on the final lap to grab fourth place.

Dovizioso was sixth on the best of the Ducatis, followed by Danilo Petrucci's Pramac machine and the Aprilia of Aleix Espargaro, who was handed a three-place penalty for an unsafe release that made Suzuki rider Andrea Iannone fall.

Pol Espargaro took KTM's best MotoGP finish in ninth, while the top 10 was completed by Jonas Folger (Tech 3 Yamaha), who pitted twice in the space of two laps.

Lorenzo's race never recovered from his botched stop, and he claimed the final point in 15th.

Race result

1Marc MarquezHonda2244m15.974s
2Dani PedrosaHonda2212.438s
3Maverick VinalesYamaha2218.135s
4Valentino RossiYamaha2220.466s
5Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda2220.892s
6Andrea DoviziosoDucati2223.259s
7Danilo PetrucciPramac Ducati2224.079s
8Aleix EspargaroAprilia2230.559s
9Pol EspargaroKTM2230.754s
10Jonas FolgerTech3 Yamaha2233.236s
11Alex RinsSuzuki2233.290s
12Johann ZarcoTech3 Yamaha2234.595s
13Karel AbrahamAspar Ducati2234.697s
14Jack MillerMVDS Honda2238.062s
15Jorge LorenzoDucati2240.100s
16Scott ReddingPramac Ducati2244.376s
17Tito RabatMVDS Honda2245.454s
18Sam LowesAprilia2253.976s
19Andrea IannoneSuzuki221m23.346s
20Hector BarberaAvintia Ducati211 Lap
-Bradley SmithKTM20Retirement
-Loris BazAvintia Ducati15Retirement
-Alvaro BautistaAspar Ducati12Retirement

Riders' standings

1Marc Marquez154
2Maverick Vinales140
3Andrea Dovizioso133
4Valentino Rossi132
5Dani Pedrosa123
6Johann Zarco88
7Jonas Folger77
8Danilo Petrucci75
9Cal Crutchlow75
10Jorge Lorenzo66
11Alvaro Bautista44
12Jack Miller43
13Aleix Espargaro40
14Scott Redding33
15Loris Baz31
16Andrea Iannone28
17Karel Abraham23
18Tito Rabat23
19Pol Espargaro21
20Hector Barbera21
21Alex Rins12
22Bradley Smith8
23Michele Pirro7
24Sam Lowes2
25Sylvain Guintoli1

 Earlier MOTOGP story More news Next MOTOGP story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed