Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

MotoGP Brno: Andrea Dovizioso fastest in dry conditions in FP2

Andrea Dovizioso Folger MotoGP 2017 Brno

Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso set the pace in the second MotoGP free practice session at Brno, run in dry conditions following a wet FP1.

With the times gradually improving as conditions got better during the first half of the session, the factory Hondas of Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez soon took over the first two positions.

Hector Barbera (Avintia Ducati) then edged them out with just three minutes to go, before Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati) moved to the front.

However, Dovizioso lowered the benchmark by more than four tenths in the final minute, the Italian's 1m56.332s fast enough to remain at the top of the times by the end.

Jonas Folger slotted into second in the final moments on his Tech 3 Yamaha, leaving Petrucci in third ahead of Folger's team-mate, FP1 pacesetter Johann Zarco.

Barbera was fifth, ahead of Scott Redding's Pramac Ducati, while the late improvements shuffled Pedrosa down to seventh.

Marquez, who saved a big moment late on, slipped even further down the order to 10th at the flag, with Cal Crutchlow and Aleix Espargaro getting between the Honda team-mates.

The factory Yamahas of Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi were 11th and 14th, while Jorge Lorenzo, who tried a new fairing introduced by Ducati, was only 15th.

The only rider to crash was Sam Lowes, whose Aprilia fell at Turn 10.

FP2 times

1Andrea DoviziosoDucati1m56.332s15
2Jonas FolgerTech3 Yamaha0.398s12
3Danilo PetrucciPramac Ducati0.419s15
4Johann ZarcoTech3 Yamaha0.530s15
5Hector BarberaAvintia Ducati0.532s16
6Scott ReddingPramac Ducati0.573s14
7Dani PedrosaHonda0.601s13
8Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda0.629s11
9Aleix EspargaroAprilia0.687s14
10Marc MarquezHonda0.877s13
11Maverick VinalesYamaha0.957s12
12Alvaro BautistaAspar Ducati0.982s14
13Pol EspargaroKTM1.046s14
14Valentino RossiYamaha1.064s14
15Jorge LorenzoDucati1.305s15
16Karel AbrahamAspar Ducati1.537s16
17Loris BazAvintia Ducati1.660s17
18Alex RinsSuzuki1.710s17
19Jack MillerMVDS Honda1.847s16
20Andrea IannoneSuzuki1.862s15
21Tito RabatMVDS Honda2.105s18
22Sam LowesAprilia2.306s13
23Bradley SmithKTM3.050s13

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed