Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Rally Finland: Esapekka Lappi leads after team-mate Latvala retires

Lappi Toyota Rally Finland 2017

World Rally Car rookies Esapekka Lappi and Teemu Suninen will start the final day of Rally Finland first and second, with Lappi holding a comfortable lead for Toyota.

Jari-Matti Latvala's retirement while inching away in the rally lead on the second running of Ouninpohja left his team-mate Lappi facing an untroubled run towards a win on his home World Rally Championship round, in only his fourth start in the series' top class.

Lappi, WRC2 champion last year and European Rally champion in 2014, has a 49.1-second lead over M-Sport Ford driver Suninen.

Finns still hold a 1-2-3 at home, but Toyota's one-two has been disrupted by Suninen - in only his second World Rally Car start - getting ahead of Juho Hanninen by going quickest on Saturday's penultimate stage Pihlajakoski.

A rollbar problem caused Hanninen to back off slightly, and as well as falling 4.3s behind Suninen he is also now just 1.3s ahead of flying DMACK Ford driver Elfyn Evans - who won the concluding Paijala stage.

Elfyn Evans DMACK Ford WRC Finland 2017

Thierry Neuville is now up to sixth place and closing on Craig Breen ahead as he tries to take advantage of WRC title rival Sebastien Ogier's absence following his heavy Friday morning crash.

Hyundai has been off the pace all weekend, but Neuville felt the cleaner road conditions of the afternoon loop helped make the car handle the best it had so far and he closed to within 14s of Breen's Citroen.

Ogier may yet rejoin to go for powerstage points on Sunday, subject to the outcome of further medical tests on his concussed co-driver Julien Ingrassia.

Ott Tanak, recovering after damaging a tyre while leading early on Friday, has now reached seventh place.

He picked up that spot when Kris Meeke sustained a puncture on the last stage, though Tanak had been on course to overhaul the Citroen regardless.

At the foot of the top 10, the delayed Mads Ostberg is charging up behind Dani Sordo for ninth.


1Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2h13m02.7s
2Teemu Suninen, M.MarkkulaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord49.1s
3Juho Hanninen, K.LindstromToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota53.4s
4Elfyn Evans, D.BarrittM-Sport World Rally TeamFord54.7s
5Craig Breen, S.MartinCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen1m16.9s
6Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai1m31.6s
7Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord2m07.5s
8Kris Meeke, P.NagleCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen2m59.1s
9Dani Sordo, M.MartiHyundai MotorsportHyundai3m54.0s
10Mads Ostberg, T.EriksenM-Sport World Rally TeamFord4m23.6s
11Jari Huttunen, A.LinnaketoPrintsportSkoda9m11.8s
12Eric Camilli, B.VeillasM-Sport World Rally TeamFord9m31.4s
13Teemu Asunmaa, J.HalttunenHannu's Rally TeamSkoda10m52.2s
14Quentin Gilbert, R.JamoulSkoda11m18.2s
15Tom Cave, J.MorganAdapta ASHyundai12m27.9s
16Valeriy Gorban, S.LarensEurolamp WRTMini12m43.3s
17Khalid Al-Qassimi, C.PattersonCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen13m36.6s
18Max Vatanen, J-J.RenucciFord14m08.5s
19Osian Pryce, D.FurnissDrive DmackFord15m00.0s
20Hiroki Arai, G.MacNeallTommi Makinen RacingFord15m19.4s
21Simone Tempestini, G.BernacchiniGekon racingCitroen16m17.9s
22Jari Kihlman, T.IkonenHyundai17m16.1s
23Raul Jeets, K.SikkSkoda19m40.4s
24Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota20m40.3s
25Kees Burger, M.LukkaSkoda22m57.1s
26Nicolas Ciamin, la HayeFord25m05.6s
27Emil Lindholm, T.TuominenFord26m30.7s
28Julius Tannert, J.HeiglADAC SachsenFord28m36.2s
29Dennis Radstrom, J.JohanssonFord28m45.0s
30Nil Solans, M.A.IbanezFord28m51.9s
31Ari Saxberg, P.LeppalaSkoda29m38.6s
32Jouni Virtanen, K.SiekkinenCitroen30m15.2s
33Dillon van Way, D.RobertsFord35m30.5s
34Pierre-Louis Loubet, V.LandaisFord38m47.9s
35Gus Greensmith, C.ParryFord39m23.8s
36Umberto Accornero, N.ArenaPeugeot43m33.0s
37Raimo Kaisanlahti, A.SparreFord48m15.3s
38Miguel Diaz-Aboitiz, D.SanjuanFord53m00.0s
39Sami Juusonen, J.TalsoSuzuki59m44.8s
40Juuso Nordgren, M.KorhonenTGS Worldwide OuSkoda1h01m08.6s
41Umberto Scandola, M.FerraraS.A. Motorsport Italia SRLSkoda1h01m24.9s
42Takamoto Katsuta, M.SalminenTommi Makinen RacingFord1h01m45.6s
43Lars Stugemo, K-O.LexeSkoda1h07m20.9s
44Atte Kivioja, P.HaatajaPeugeot1h09m47.0s
45Jukka Metsala, S.O.-AhoSkoda1h09m57.1s
46Shunichi Washio, Y.IshikawaToyota1h10m18.2s
47Henrik Pietarinen, J.LummaaFord1h20m12.7s
48Julien France, P.MazarguilCitroen1h27m38.4s
49Mikko Lehessaari, R.HamalainenHannu's Rally TeamSkoda1h29m05.2s
50Kari Hytonen, A.HerranenPeugeot1h42m05.0s
51Philippe Casado, L.ZurbachPeugeot1h46m06.7s
52Hayden Paddon, S.MarshallHyundai MotorsportHyundai1h58m33.4s

 Earlier WRC story More news Next WRC story 
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed