Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

New Hampshire NASCAR: Hamlin gets Joe Gibbs Racing's first 2017 win

Denny Hamlin wins New Hampshire NASCAR 2017

Denny Hamlin secured Joe Gibbs Racing's first NASCAR Cup win of 2017 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, holding off from Kyle Larson's late charge to effectively secure a playoff place.

Hamlin - racing his back-up car after he shunted his Toyota in Friday practice - spent the majority of the 301-lap race fighting among the frontrunners, leading 54 laps in total.

With 35 laps to go, Hamlin took the lead from team-mate Matt Kenseth on the final restart.

Kenseth - who made a quick final pitstop by electing to take only two fresh tyres - was unable to hold off his team-mate, before dropping behind Ganassi driver Larson and Martin Truex Jr.

Larson started last after failing a post-qualifying technical inspection for the second race in a row and had made excellent progress through the field, hounding Hamlin in the last 10 laps.

Although Larson made up ground through traffic, Hamlin held on to secure his 30th Cup win and his first in 28 races.

Settling for second, Larson headed stage one winner Truex, who led the opening 75 laps with consummate ease.

Truex suffered a cut tyre towards the beginning of the final third, but serendipitously was able to stop at the start of the pit window, losing very little time as a result.

Kenseth, who will depart JGR at the end of the season, continued a good day for the team to finish fourth, ahead of Stewart-Haas Racing's Kevin Harvick.

Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing New Hampshire NASCAR 2017

Daniel Suarez equalled his best result of his rookie Cup season with an excellent sixth place to beat Clint Bowyer, who headed fellow Ford runners Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski.

Jimmie Johnson rounded out the top 10, albeit after receiving a penalty on the first lap for jumping polesitter Truex before the line at the race start.

Kyle Busch - who won the second stage after pitting before the end of stage one - received two speeding penalties following his final two pitstops, and had to settle for 12th.

The race was briefly red-flagged during the second stage after the track started to break up at Turn 3, requiring an emergency fix before running was able to continue.

Aric Almirola, in his first race since damaging his T5 vertebra in his accident at Kansas, finished in 24th.

Joey Logano endured a miserable afternoon and, after being forced to pit with a rear suspension issue, was able to rejoin and finished 33 laps down.


1Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota3h00m36.s
2Kyle LarsonChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet0.509s
3Martin Truex Jr.Furniture Row RacingToyota3.297s
4Matt KensethJoe Gibbs RacingToyota4.442s
5Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord8.452s
6Daniel SuarezJoe Gibbs RacingToyota9.846s
7Clint BowyerStewart-Haas RacingFord10.618s
8Kurt BuschStewart-Haas RacingFord10.655s
9Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord11.451s
10Jimmie JohnsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet12.642s
11Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet12.856s
12Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota14.028s
13Danica PatrickStewart-Haas RacingFord16.123s
14Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Roush Fenway RacingFord17.665s
15Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet19.252s
16Ty DillonGermain RacingChevrolet20.356s
17Jamie McMurrayChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet21.243s
18Dale Earnhardt Jr.Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet23.992s
19Ryan BlaneyWood Brothers RacingFord25.260s
20Trevor BayneRoush Fenway RacingFord25.394s
21A.J. AllmendingerJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet26.348s
22Paul MenardRichard Childress RacingChevrolet27.228s
23Landon CassillFront Row MotorsportsFord29.527s
24Aric AlmirolaRichard Petty MotorsportsFord30.274s
25Chris BuescherJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet1 Lap
26Michael McDowellLeavine Family RacingChevrolet1 Lap
27Ryan NewmanRichard Childress RacingChevrolet1 Lap
28Kasey KahneHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet1 Lap
29David RaganFront Row MotorsportsFord1 Lap
30Matt DiBenedettoGo FAS RacingFord2 Laps
31Corey LaJoieBK RacingToyota3 Laps
32Ryan SiegBK RacingToyota3 Laps
33Jeffrey EarnhardtCircle Sport / TMGChevrolet4 Laps
34Reed SorensonPremium MotorsportsChevrolet5 Laps
35Gray GauldingPremium MotorsportsToyota6 Laps
36Josh BilickiRick Ware RacingChevrolet11 Laps
37Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord32 Laps
38Cole WhittTriStar MotorsportsChevroletEngine
39Erik JonesFurniture Row RacingToyotaAccident


1Martin Truex Jr.758
2Kyle Larson720
3Kyle Busch650
4Kevin Harvick639
5Denny Hamlin589
6Chase Elliott587
7Jamie McMurray572
8Brad Keselowski564
9Jimmie Johnson552
10Clint Bowyer526
11Matt Kenseth524
12Ryan Blaney486
13Joey Logano472
14Kurt Busch455
15Ricky Stenhouse Jr.441
16Ryan Newman428
17Erik Jones427
18Daniel Suarez404
19Trevor Bayne369
20Austin Dillon363
21Dale Earnhardt Jr.351
22Kasey Kahne343
23Paul Menard324
24Ty Dillon322
25Michael McDowell286
26Chris Buescher283
27A.J. Allmendinger275
28Danica Patrick254
29David Ragan250
30Matt DiBenedetto203
31Landon Cassill203
32Aric Almirola201
33Cole Whitt188
34Corey LaJoie130
35Reed Sorenson91
36Gray Gaulding86
37Jeffrey Earnhardt78
38Michael Waltrip29
39Derrike Cope26
40Billy Johnson15
41Boris Said8
42Alon Day5
43Cody Ware4
44Kevin O'Connell4
45Tommy Regan3
46D.J. Kennington2

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed