Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

New York Formula E: DS Virgin's Sam Bird takes first win of season

Sam Bird DS Virgin New York Formula E 2017

Sam Bird claimed his first Formula E victory in more than a year in a frenzied opening race for the series' New York double-header.

Bird survived a two-lap shootout caused by a late safety car to beat Jean-Eric Vergne to the win by 1.3 seconds.

Stephane Sarrazin scored his first podium of the season in third, while Lucas di Grassi rose to fourth to cut the absent Sebastien Buemi's championship lead to 20 points.

Daniel Abt led the opening laps, beating polesitting debutant Alex Lynn off the line as Bird got the jump on Vergne into Turn 1 to run behind new team-mate Lynn.

Bird gradually grew frustrated at the rookie's "overdefending" and was eventually allowed past on lap nine of 43, then swiftly started to attack Abt.

Half a dozen laps later he wrested the lead from the Audi driver with an aggressive dive down the inside at Turn 1.

Lynn was in no position to join Bird's progress, and gradually slipped back behind Nick Heidfeld, Vergne, the charging Stephane Sarrazin and di Grassi.

Vergne got ahead of Abt for second at the end of the opening stint, and Bird retained his lead during the mid-race car swaps, pitting a lap after Lynn and a lap before Abt as slight variations on strategy briefly split the lead pack.

When it converged again Heidfeld was the big loser, dropping to eighth, while his Mahindra team-mate Felix Rosenqvist leapt to sixth to continue his remarkable rise from 17th.

Lynn's early stop meant he retained fifth but he retired soon after with a suspected driveshaft failure.

New York Formula E 2017

The lead group then stabilised with Bird leading Vergne, Abt and Sarrazin, and attention swiftly turned to di Grassi attacking Rosenqvist for fifth.

He claimed the place when the Swede locked up and spun rearwards into the barrier at the exit of Turn 2.

Rosenqvist rejoined, but a broken rear wing forced him to pit for a replacement and Mahindra was swiftly dealt a double blow as Heidfeld retired with a broken right-rear after appearing to clip an inside kerb too hard.

He stopped on track and caused a safety car with five laps remaining, sparking the two-lap shootout, which Bird handled with ease to win for the first time since Buenos Aires last season.

Abt lost the final podium place at the first corner on the final lap due a battery management system problem, promoting Sarrazin to third and gifting the Techeetah team a double podium.

As Abt tried to rejoin, he almost collected team-mate di Grassi and before the battery troubles meant he did not make the flag.

That handed Loic Duval a shock fifth for Faraday Future Dragon Racing, whose home race looked to have unravelled when Jerome d'Ambrosio had to pit with nose damage early on while running in the points.

Oliver Turvey claimed a quiet sixth, while Buemi's Renault e.dams replacement Pierre Gasly rose from 19th on the grid to seventh to score points on his debut - beating team regular Nico Prost by one place in the process.

A last-lap problem for Tom Dillmann dropped the Venturi driver out of ninth, promoted Robin Frijns (Andretti) and Adam Carroll (Jaguar) to rare points finishes.


1Sam BirdVirginDS-Virgin4352m29.275s
2Jean-Eric VergneTecheetahRenault4352m30.629s
3Stephane SarrazinTecheetahRenault4352m33.667s
4Lucas di GrassiAbtABT Schaeffler4352m35.430s
5Loic DuvalDragonPenske4352m37.703s
6Oliver TurveyNextEVNEXTEV TCR4352m38.227s
7Pierre Gaslye.damsRenault4352m38.596s
8Nicolas Proste.damsRenault4352m39.311s
9Robin FrijnsAndrettiAndretti4352m40.294s
10Adam CarrollJaguarJaguar4352m41.348s
11Nelson Piquet Jr.NextEVNEXTEV TCR4352m42.252s
12Antonio Felix da CostaAndrettiAndretti4352m42.616s
13Tom DillmannVenturiVenturi4352m45.612s
14Daniel AbtAbtABT Schaeffler4251m27.073s
15Felix RosenqvistMahindraMahindra4252m56.477s
-Nick HeidfeldMahindraMahindra3540m07.941s
-Maro EngelVenturiVenturi3053m13.361s
-Alex LynnVirginDS-Virgin2327m00.912s
-Jerome d'AmbrosioDragonPenske2252m05.775s
-Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar1853m24.660s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed