Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Italy: Ott Tanak wins attritional event in Sardinia

Ott Tanak wins WRC Italy 2017

Ott Tanak took his first ever World Rally Championship victory with first place on Rally Italy, after surviving an attritional event in Sardinia in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC.

The event was thrown on its head in a twist on Saturday afternoon, when long-time leader Hayden Paddon crashed his Hyundai into a bank on SS13 and retired on the following road section, gifting Tanak the lead.

The Estonian pushed hard to build up an unassailable gap to Toyota's Jari-Matti Latvala, who lost time with a stall on SS17 on Sunday morning, effectively ending his charge.

Latvala was desperate to take powerstage honours but ran wide in a tight left-hander, and was inconsolable at the finish.

Thierry Neuville rounded out the podium, although he would have likely been the one to inherit the lead from Paddon had he not had brake issues on Saturday.

The Belgian driver lost the brakes completely, just as he was closing on Paddon for the lead.

Arguably the star of the weekend was Esapekka Lappi, who won the powerstage to take his sixth stage victory of the weekend, on only his second event in a 2017 WRC car with Toyota.

He had gearbox issues on Friday morning, losing second gear, which cost him time, before winning his first stage of the weekend on the final stage of the loop despite the problems.

Sebastien Ogier

Sebastien Ogier looked downcast all weekend, as he swept the road and ended Friday 41 seconds off the lead.

When he wasn't sweeping the road, he suffered from understeer and struggled to find the sweetspot with his M-Sport Fiesta.

Juho Hanninen lost fifth to Ogier on the final stage with steering issues, but still finished sixth despite crashing on Friday's Tergu SS9, when he had been only 7.9s off the lead on the previous stage.

Mads Ostberg had a problem-filled weekend capped off by his rear-right wheel pointing in the wrong direction on the powerstage, but still got his Fiesta home to finish seventh.

Andreas Mikkelsen headed the Citroen charge on his debut with the team in eighth place.

A puncture was his only worry, as he worked to adapt to a car driven from the rear, contrary to his usual understeer-favouring style.

His team-mate Kris Meeke crashed out as he challenged for the lead on Friday, while Craig Breen looked to be heading for the top 10 before a landing after a jump dislodged the gearbox mounting and forced him out and into Rally2 on Saturday.

Elfyn Evans was another driver to return under Rally2 on Saturday after hitting a tree on Friday and a compression launched the DMACK Fiesta off the road.

Evans and Breen both finished outside of the top 20.

Dani Sordo also suffered with turbo issues, and just to show what could have been, he set multiple stage wins on his way to finish 12th.

Jan Kopecky took WRC2 honours in his Skoda Fabia R5, finishing 9th overall.


1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3h25m15.1s
2Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota12.3s
3Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai1m07.7s
4Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2m12.9s
5Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m25.3s
6Juho Hanninen, K.LindstromToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota3m38.5s
7Mads Ostberg, O.FloeneM-Sport World Rally TeamFord6m31.8s
8Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen8m07.8s
9Eric Camilli, B.VeillasM-Sport World Rally TeamFord11m15.8s
10Jan Kopecky, P.DreslerSkoda Motorsport IISkoda11m21.4s


1Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota5m10.5s
2Dani Sordo, M.MartiHyundai MotorsportHyundai0.4s
3Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord1.3s
4Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai1.9s
5Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2.3s


1Sebastien Ogier141
2Thierry Neuville123
3Ott Tanak108
4Jari-Matti Latvala107
5Dani Sordo70
6Elfyn Evans53
7Craig Breen43
8Hayden Paddon33
9Juho Hanninen29
10Kris Meeke27
11Esapekka Lappi20
12Andreas Mikkelsen16
13Mads Ostberg12
14Stephane Lefebvre10
15Teemu Suninen5
16Jan Kopecky5
17Pontus Tidemand4
18Eric Camilli2
19Stephane Sarrazin2
20Yohan Rossel1
21Bryan Bouffier1

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed