Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Rally Italy Sardinia: M-Sport's Ott Tanak on brink of first WRC win

Ott Tanak Rally Italy 2017

Ott Tanak extended his Rally Italy lead on the first two stages of Sunday morning to 25.5 seconds over Toyota's Jari-Matti Latvala.

M-Sport Ford driver Tanak - who has never won a WRC round - lost time to Latvala on the opening test, but pulled it all back on Sassari-Argentiera after Latvala had a stall that he felt cost him around five seconds.

Tanak Latvala Rally Italy 2017

It wasn't plain sailing for Tanak, who had a Fiesta full of dust as the car developed a hole. He is hopeful he can fix It before the next stage.

Having crashed out of the lead on Saturday, breaking a driveshaft in the process, Hayden Paddon rewarded his mechanics for getting the car ready for leg three with a stage win on the morning's opener. His team-mate Dani Sordo won SS17.

The third Hyundai of Thierry Neuville remains third, just under 40s behind Latvala but 1m24.7s ahead of Esapekka Lappi.

Lappi was quicker than his Toyota team-mate Juho Hanninen on both stages to ensure he stays ahead in their battle for fourth.

Championship leader Sebastien Ogier is saving car and tyres for a push for powerstage points after an event mostly spent cleaning the roads.

He lies sixth, ahead of fellow Fiesta driver Mads Ostberg and Citroen new boy Andreas Mikkelsen, the last 2017 WRC car in the top 10.


1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3h11m00.7s
2Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota25.5s
3Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai1m05.2s
4Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2m29.9s
5Juho Hanninen, K.LindstromToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota3m14.2s
6Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m39.0s
7Mads Ostberg, O.FloeneM-Sport World Rally TeamFord4m17.5s
8Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen8m04.2s
9Eric Camilli, B.VeillasM-Sport World Rally TeamFord10m24.6s
10Jan Kopecky, P.DreslerSkoda Motorsport IISkoda10m29.1s
11Ole-Christian Veiby, S.R.SkjaermoenPrintsportSkoda12m31.1s
12Hayden Paddon, S.MarshallHyundai MotorsportHyundai15m07.6s
13Dani Sordo, M.MartiHyundai MotorsportHyundai16m37.7s
14Yazeed Al-Rajhi, M.OrrYazeed RacingFord17m06.6s
15Takamoto Katsuta, M.SalminenTommi Makinen RacingFord17m20.0s
16Yohan Rossel, B.FulcrandCitroen20m40.6s
17Jean-Michel Raoux, L.MagatCitroen31m30.5s
18Simone Romagna, M.BosiFord31m37.8s
19Nil Solans, M.A.IbanezFord32m55.2s
20Nicolas Ciamin, la HayeFord33m39.5s
21Pierre-Louis Loubet, V.LandaisFord34m09.5s
22Giuseppe Dettori, C.PisanoSkoda35m03.3s
23Julius Tannert, J.HeiglADAC SachsenFord36m08.5s
24Terry Folb, C.GuieuFord37m30.6s
25Dennis Radstrom, J.JohanssonFord39m39.3s
26Craig Breen, S.MartinCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen44m09.0s
27Elfyn Evans, D.BarrittM-Sport World Rally TeamFord44m25.6s
28Lukasz Pieniążek, P.MazurTRT Peugeot WRTPeugeot47m05.0s
29Robert Duggan, T.WoodburnFord49m19.6s
30Martin Prokop, J.TomanekOnebet Jipocar WRTFord53m37.3s
31Giuseppe Pozzoli, C.MeleSubaru1h00m20.7s
32Dillon van Way, D.RobertsFord1h02m34.2s
33Giovanni Bitti, P.CottuSkoda1h04m04.6s
34Kees Burger, M.LukkaSkoda1h11m59.5s
35Enrico Brazzoli, E.GhiettiPeugeot1h21m54.3s
36Raffaele Donadio, G.BarbaroCitroen1h31m39.3s
37Giovanni Martinez, G.PirisinuPeugeot1h39m54.5s
38Carlo Covi, P.E.OmettoPeugeot1h41m49.3s
39Sebastian Careaga, R.SanjuanFord1h44m12.0s
40Andrea Coti Zelati, L.AlibertoFIAT1h52m52.1s
41Pietro Someda, G.CampesanPeugeot1h56m10.1s
42Samuele Pirotto, E.RevelloFIAT2h23m02.5s
43Alessandro Leoni, L.ArcaCitroen2h39m42.4s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed