Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Italy: Ott Tanak takes lead as Hayden Paddon crashes out

Ott Tanak Rally Italy 2017

M-Sport's Ott Tanak consolidated a shock Rally Italy lead on Saturday afternoon, after former leader Hayden Paddon was forced to retire his Hyundai after hitting a bank.

Paddon's car was on fire on the rear-right-hand side after the incident, and despite making it to the end of the Coiluna-Loelle SS13 stage in fourth, he had to retire on the road section afterwards and throw away a 9.4 second lead.

Tanak went quickest on the two following stages - having already topped SS13 following Paddon's crash - and finished second on the final stage of the loop to lengthen his new-found lead to 24.3s over Jari-Matti Latvala's Toyota.

The Finn couldn't match Tanak for raw speed, but could end up closer to the Estonian if he gets his way, with Latvala and his team lobbying the rally organisers to be awarded time back after being caught in the dust of the punctured Mads Ostberg earlier in the day.

Thierry Neuville, who likely would have inherited the lead from Paddon had his brakes not faded on Friday's afternoon loop and dropped down the order, now lies third, 37.9s behind Latvala.

He also has a minute in hand over fourth placed man, Esapekka Lappi, who benefitted from his team-mate Juho Hanninen having a spin and power steering issues during the last stage of the afternoon.

After setting three fastest times in only his second event in a WRC car yesterday - including one without second gear - Lappi added to that by topping the second run of Monte Lerno, just as his team-mate hit trouble, which he capitalised perfectly on and dropped Hanninen to fifth.

Sebastien Ogier is sixth, 44s adrift of Hanninen's Toyota, with the reigning champion and current points leader suffering from understeer in the afternoon and not enjoying his Rally Italy experience so far this weekend.

He does have half a minute in hand over Ostberg, although the Norwegian would have been closer had it not been for an issue with his car pulling in different directions under braking on SS15.

Andreas Mikkelsen's baptism of fire for Citroen continues as he suffered front-diff problems on the last stage of the day to go along with his earlier puncture, but he did round out the top eight.


1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord2h56m37.3s
2Jari-Matti Latvala, M.AnttilaToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota24.3s
3Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai1m02.2s
4Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2m10.8s
5Juho Hanninen, K.LindstromToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota2m42.1s
6Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m26.1s
7Mads Ostberg, O.FloeneM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m56.0s
8Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen7m47.6s
9Jan Kopecky, P.DreslerSkoda Motorsport IISkoda9m52.9s
10Eric Camilli, B.VeillasM-Sport World Rally TeamFord9m53.8s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed