Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Nurburgring Nordschleife WTCC: Bjork wins opener for Polestar Volvo

Thed Bjork Polestar Volvo Nurburgring WTCC 2017Thed Bjork Polestar Volvo Nurburgring WTCC 2017

Polestar Volvo's Thed Bjork took his second World Touring Car Championship victory of the 2017 season in the opening race at the Nurburgring Nordschleife.

Bjork had started sixth for the reversed grid race, but a rapid start propelled him to fourth as he squeezed between Tom Chilton and Tom Coronel when the lights went out.

A poor start from front row starter Esteban Guerrieri meant Bjork was running third by the time the WTCC grid went through the first corner.

A duel between polesitter Nestor Girolami and Mehdi Bennani involved a touch of wheels at the start, allowing Bjork to sit close behind them.

Bjork had to wait until the two mile straight at the end of the opening lap to slipstream his way past Bennani and into second, before repeating the feat on the second tour to wrestle the lead from Girolami.

The Volvo driver then ran unchallenged to the flag ahead of Bennani, with Girolami's race ruined by a puncture that forced him into the barriers and elevated the privateer Munnich Motorsport Citroen of Rob Huff into third.

Rob Huff Munnich Citroen Nurburgring Nordschleife WTCC 2017

Huff worked his way up the grid from eighth with a series of impressive passes and moved clear of Chilton for the final podium place on the last lap.

Fifth went the way of Guerrieri, who progressively slipped down the order after a poor start from second.

Nicky Catsburg won the duel for sixth in his Volvo after defending resolutely from the Honda of Norbert Michelisz and ROAL Motorsport's Tom Coronel.

Yann Ehrlacher was ninth ahead of Sebastien Loeb Racing's John Filippi and the Honda of Ryo Michigami.

The third works Honda of championship leader Tiago Monteiro struggled for pace throughout the race and picked up a puncture late on that left him last on the road.


1Thed BjorkPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo26m24.961s
2Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen2.538s
3Rob HuffMunnich MotorsportCitroen3.096s
4Tom ChiltonSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen3.732s
5Esteban GuerrieriCampos RacingChevrolet8.487s
6Nicky CatsburgPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo8.910s
7Norbert MicheliszHonda Racing Team JASHonda16.496s
8Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet16.796s
9Yann EhrlacherRC MotorsportLada19.481s
10John FilippiSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen22.889s
11Ryo MichigamiHonda Racing Team JASHonda23.380s
12Kevin GleasonRC MotorsportLada24.118s
13Aurelien PanisZengo MotorsportHonda34.158s
14Daniel NagyZengo MotorsportHonda35.457s
15Tiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda5m14.304s
-Nestor GirolamiPolestar Cyan RacingVolvoRetirement

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed