Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WRC Rally Portugal: Latvala, Meeke and Paddon out of lead battle

Kris Meeke Citroen WRC 2017

The ultra-close Rally of Portugal lead battle was blown apart on the final full-length stage of Friday when key protagonists Jari-Matti Latvala, Kris Meeke and Hayden Paddon all hit trouble.

The top eight in round six of the 2017 World Rally Championship went onto the Ponte de Lima stage covered by just 8.9 seconds and with Ott Tanak holding a tiny 0.1s lead over Latvala.

Follow WRC Rally of Portugal live

Toyota driver Latvala was first to hit trouble when he felt "something changed" with the car under braking for the second corner.

He hit a bank and rolled, doing damage that left him limping through the rest of the stage in 'road mode' and losing nearly five minutes, dropping him to 13th.

Meeke had taken the lead on the first stage of the afternoon then fell from first to fifth when he took SS6 gently to conserve tyres with the intention of pushing on Ponte de Lima.

But his charge was shortlived as he first had to stop to change a puncture then parked for good with suspension damage.

Paddon had moved up to third with rapid times on the loop's first two stages, but his Hyundai - which had lost the lead in the morning when it cut out unexpectedly - stopped with a mechanical problem while setting the pace on split times.

After radio assistance from Hyundai, Paddon managed to get the car going again after a 10-minute delay and is classified 24th.

That meant Tanak held onto the lead despite having "bent something" on his M-Sport Ford in an impact on the previous stage.

Dani Sordo and Sebastien Ogier are second and third, with Craig Breen fourth and still within 10.8s of the lead despite breaking a damper on the chaotic SS7.

Thierry Neuville is fifth behind Elfyn Evans but will appeal for an adjusted time as he felt he lost at least 20s behind the slow-moving Latvala. Neuville is 23.4s off the lead.


1Ott Tanak, M.JarveojaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord1h33m41.4s
2Dani Sordo, M.MartiHyundai MotorsportHyundai3.6s
3Sebastien Ogier, J.IngrassiaM-Sport World Rally TeamFord6.2s
4Craig Breen, S.MartinCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCitroen10.8s
5Thierry Neuville, N.GilsoulHyundai MotorsportHyundai11.8s
6Elfyn Evans, D.BarrittM-Sport World Rally TeamFord18.1s
7Juho Hanninen, K.LindstromToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota49.8s
8Esapekka Lappi, J.FermToyota Gazoo Racing WRCToyota1m05.6s
9Andreas Mikkelsen, A.JagerSkoda MotorsportSkoda3m16.5s
10Mads Ostberg, O.FloeneM-Sport World Rally TeamFord3m49.6s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed