Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WTCC Marrakech: Honda leads the way in free practice

Norbert Michelisz WTCC Marrakech 2017

Honda drivers Norbert Michelisz and Tiago Monteiro were fastest in practice ahead of the first World Touring Car Championship round of the season in Marrakech.

Monteiro had topped the morning's first 45-minute session, but Michelisz ended practice with the fastest time after a late flying lap of the Moulay el Hassan street circuit in practice two.

Hungarian Michelisz managed only five laps and failed to record a time in the first session as a result of an oil leak, but he racked up 21 laps in the second session, recording his fastest time of 1m22.234s at the death.

That bettered Monteiro's previous session best by 0.206 seconds to ensure a 1-2 for the works Honda team.

Former Honda driver Rob Huff ended second practice with the third-fastest time, but his morning was not without its dramas.

Huff was barred from taking part in the first practice session after his Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee failed scrutineering - having originally been fitted with out of date seatbelts.

While he was later cleared to take part in second practice minutes before the session start after 2017-specification belts were flown over from the UK, Huff stopped on track late on, shortly after recording his fastest time having run out of fuel.

Volvo drivers Nestor Girolami and Nicky Catsburg were fifth- and sixth-fastest in the second session, with the Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze of Esteban Guerrieri separating the pair from the third Vovlo S60 Polestar of Thed Bjork.

Mehdi Bennani had been second fastest in first practice to Monteiro but was eighth in the lead Sebastien Loeb Racing C-Elysee in the second session, ahead of the third factory Honda Civic of Ryo Michigami and team-mate Tom Chilton.


1Tiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda1m22.685s15
2Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen0.778s10
3Tom ChiltonSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen0.894s12
4Thed BjorkPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo0.908s12
5Ryo MichigamiHonda Racing Team JASHonda1.241s20
6Nestor GirolamiPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.441s14
7Esteban GuerrieriCampos RacingChevrolet1.454s18
8Nicky CatsburgPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.845s13
9Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet1.984s11
10Yann EhrlacherRC MotorsportLada2.082s23
11John FilippiSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen2.092s16
12Daniel NagyZengo MotorsportHonda2.252s20
13Norbert MicheliszHonda Racing Team JASHonda-5
14Aurelien PanisZengo MotorsportHonda-0
15Rob HuffMunnich MotorsportCitroen-0


1Norbert MicheliszHonda Racing Team JASHonda1m22.234s21
2Tiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda0.206s18
3Rob HuffMunnich MotorsportCitroen0.303s19
4Nestor GirolamiPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo0.913s16
5Nicky CatsburgPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.029s13
6Esteban GuerrieriCampos RacingChevrolet1.131s16
7Thed BjorkPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.164s14
8Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen1.175s22
9Ryo MichigamiHonda Racing Team JASHonda1.270s20
10Tom ChiltonSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen1.291s20
11John FilippiSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen1.328s19
12Daniel NagyZengo MotorsportHonda1.737s23
13Yann EhrlacherRC MotorsportLada2.838s8
14Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet3.051s12
15Aurelien PanisZengo MotorsportHonda3.329s17

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed