Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

NASCAR Phoenix: Ryan Newman takes first Childress win since 2013

Ryan Newman wins NASCAR Phoenix 2017

Ryan Newman won the NASCAR Cup race at Phoenix, taking advantage of a late caution to pull off a strategic gamble.

After winning the first stage of the race, polesitter Joey Logano was fighting back through the pack after being caught speeding on pit road.

He managed to make it as high as eighth, before his tyre blew heading into the first corner late on.

That stoppage put the race into overtime which prompted leaders Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson to pit, however Newman was told to stay out, along with Ricky Stenhouse and Martin Truex.

Newman managed to have a good restart to get clear of Stenhouse, holding on to take his and Richard Childress Racing's first win since 2013.

Stenhouse was unable to hang on in the same fashion, falling victim to Larson and Busch on the fresher rubber when the white flag came out.

While Busch was leading before the caution, Larson jumped him at their final stops after Busch had initially got ahead during the previous round of visits to the pits.

Rookies Daniel Suarez and Erik Jones picked up seventh and eighth place, the latter impressing after a decent qualifying and a nice battle with Chase Elliott midway through the race for fifth.

Elliott grabbed a first stage win for Chevrolet in the second phase, although he was the biggest loser in the final restart dropping outside of the top 10 behind Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin and Truex.


1Ryan NewmanRichard Childress RacingChevrolet3h00m41.s
2Kyle LarsonChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet0.312s
3Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota0.768s
4Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Roush Fenway RacingFord1.271s
5Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord1.286s
6Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord1.534s
7Daniel SuarezJoe Gibbs RacingToyota1.906s
8Erik JonesFurniture Row RacingToyota2.019s
9Jimmie JohnsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet2.100s
10Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota2.201s
11Martin Truex Jr.Furniture Row RacingToyota2.477s
12Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet2.488s
13Clint BowyerStewart-Haas RacingFord2.703s
14Dale Earnhardt Jr.Hendrick MotorsportsChevrolet2.728s
15Jamie McMurrayChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet2.802s
16Ty DillonGermain RacingChevrolet2.843s
17Aric AlmirolaRichard Petty MotorsportsFord3.004s
18Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet3.109s
19Trevor BayneRoush Fenway RacingFord3.183s
20Kasey KahneHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet3.201s
21Paul MenardRichard Childress RacingChevrolet3.282s
22Danica PatrickStewart-Haas RacingFord3.594s
23Ryan BlaneyWood Brothers RacingFord3.873s
24Michael McDowellLeavine Family RacingChevrolet3.899s
25Kurt BuschStewart-Haas RacingFord3.985s
26A.J. AllmendingerJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet4.004s
27Chris BuescherJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet9.699s
28Landon CassillFront Row MotorsportsFord1 Lap
29Matt DiBenedettoGo FAS RacingFord1 Lap
30Reed SorensonPremium MotorsportsChevrolet2 Laps
31Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFordAccident
32Timmy HillRick Ware RacingChevrolet7 Laps
33Derrike CopePremium MotorsportsChevrolet7 Laps
34Cole WhittTriStar MotorsportsChevroletAccident
35David RaganFront Row MotorsportsFordAccident
36Gray GauldingBK RacingToyotaAccident
37Matt KensethJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaAccident
38Corey LaJoieBK RacingToyotaAccident
39Jeffrey EarnhardtCircle Sport / TMGChevroletTransmission

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed