Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Teenage Clio graduate Price gets fourth BMR Subaru for 2017 BTCC

Josh Price

Teenager Josh Price has secured a last-minute deal to drive the fourth Subaru Levorg GT in the 2017 British Touring Car Championship under the Team BMR Racing Academy banner.

The 18-year-old will join Jason Plato, James Cole and Ashley Sutton in the BMR Subaru line-up.

After a strong season in the Renault UK Clio Cup last year, when he took one win and sixth in the championship, Price garnered the support of the BMR Academy - a stepping stone programme created by the team to assist young drivers with the transition to the BTCC.

BMR had worked to bring Price into the BTCC over the winter but had been unable to finalise the arrangement.

But after news was released that Price would race in the Clio Cup again with BMR, a new sponsor joined the fold and allowed him to step up to the BTCC after all.

The deal was agreed on Wednesday.

"I'm extremely overwhelmed by the support of my sponsors, BMR and Subaru to get me onto the BTCC grid this season at such short notice," said Price, whose deal is for the full season.

"I'm looking forward to the challenge that's ahead, as well as working with a team with such a great pedigree."

BTCC Subaru 2016

BMR Racing owner Warren Scott recently announced he would compete in British Rallycross this season rather than racing his squad's fourth Levorg, which has now gone to Price.

"We are thrilled to welcome Josh into the BMR Racing Academy BTCC Team and look forward to watching his progress throughout what promises to be an unforgettable year," said Scott.

The team is hoping to have a car ready for Price to test during the BTCC media day at Donington Park on Thursday.

If BMR is unable to do that, it will give him two days of testing at Pembrey before the Brands Hatch BTCC season-opener on April 1-2.


AmD Tuning Audi S3 Saloon
Ollie Jackson, Ant Whorton-Eales

BTC Racing Chevrolet Cruze
Chris Smiley, Dave Newsham

Ciceley Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Adam Morgan

Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type-R
Jeff Smith, Jack Goff

Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis
Rob Austin

Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Aiden Moffat

Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus
Josh Cook

Motorbase Performance Ford Focus
Mat Jackson, Luke Davenport, Martin Depper

Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall Astra
Tom Chilton, Senna Proctor

Speedworks Toyota Avensis
Tom Ingram

Team BMR Subaru Levorg
Jason Plato, Ash Sutton, James Cole, Josh Price

Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type-R
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Matt Simpson

Team Hard VW CC
Will Burns, Michael Epps, Jake Hill

Team Parker Ford Focus
Stephen Jelley

Triple Eight MG MG6
Aron Taylor-Smith, Dan Lloyd

WSR BMW 125i M Sport
Andrew Jordan, Colin Turkington, Rob Collard

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed