Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

WTCC Qatar: Tiago Monteiro quickest in practice for season finale

Tiago Monteiro, Honda, WTCC Qatar 2016

Honda driver Tiago Monteiro set the pace in World Touring Car Championship practice in Qatar, ahead of Friday's final races of the 2016 season.

Monteiro, who retains an outside chance of taking second in the championship from Citroen's Yvan Muller, set a best time of 2m01.476 seconds in his Honda Civic in the second half-hour practice session at the Losail Circuit.

The Portuguese's effort was around four tenths faster than last year's second practice benchmark time of 2m01.859s, set by Jose Maria Lopez.

Monteiro's Honda team-mate Norbert Michelisz jumped up to second near the end of the session, ending up just 0.064s slower in his Civic, while Lada's Hugo Valente was third-fastest.

World champion Lopez, who like his Citroen team will leave the WTCC after this weekend's final round of the season, was fourth-fastest ahead of Gabriele Tarquini, the third factory Honda of Rob Huff and the independent Zengo Motorsport car of Daniel Nagy.

Lopez had been fastest in the afternoon's first practice session, setting a best time of 2m02.182s in his C-Elysee to finish 0.621s faster than Valente.

In two sessions with little in the way of incidents to report, Daniel Nagy brought out a red flag in the first when he buried his Zengo Motorsport Honda Civic in the gravel at Turn 5.

The second was also stopped after ROAL Motorsport's Tom Coronel ground to a halt in his Chevrolet Cruze, his front-left wheel having come off.


1Jose Maria LopezCitroen RacingCitroen2m02.182s8
2Hugo ValenteLADA SportLada0.621s12
3Thed BjorkPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo0.867s7
4Robert DahlgrenPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo0.999s10
5Rob HuffHonda Racing Team JASHonda1.018s10
6Gabriele TarquiniLADA SportLada1.137s11
7Nicky CatsburgLADA SportLada1.204s12
8Yvan MullerCitroen RacingCitroen1.435s11
9Tiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda1.505s10
10Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen1.528s11
11Norbert MicheliszHonda Racing Team JASHonda1.537s11
12Tom ChiltonSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen1.650s10
13John FilippiCampos RacingChevrolet1.695s11
14Gregoire DemoustierSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen2.194s11
15Ferenc FiczaZengo MotorsportHonda2.329s11
16James ThompsonMunnich MotorsportChevrolet2.846s12
17Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet2.936s8
18Daniel NagyZengo MotorsportHonda3.094s10


1Tiago MonteiroHonda Racing Team JASHonda2m01.476s10
2Norbert MicheliszHonda Racing Team JASHonda0.064s10
3Hugo ValenteLADA SportLada0.318s12
4Jose Maria LopezCitroen RacingCitroen0.676s10
5Gabriele TarquiniLADA SportLada0.693s9
6Rob HuffHonda Racing Team JASHonda0.715s12
7Daniel NagyZengo MotorsportHonda0.942s11
8Mehdi BennaniSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen0.984s12
9Ferenc FiczaZengo MotorsportHonda1.025s11
10James ThompsonMunnich MotorsportChevrolet1.049s12
11Yvan MullerCitroen RacingCitroen1.299s9
12Nicky CatsburgLADA SportLada1.344s11
13Thed BjorkPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.509s5
14Robert DahlgrenPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo1.688s10
15Tom ChiltonSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen2.067s10
16Gregoire DemoustierSebastien Loeb RacingCitroen2.169s9
17John FilippiCampos RacingChevrolet2.463s13
18Tom CoronelROAL MotorsportChevrolet2.611s4

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed