Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Sebastien Buemi wins Formula E title despite Lucas di Grassi clash

Sebastien Buemi, damage, e.dams, London Formula E 2016

Sebastien Buemi clinched the 2015/16 Formula E title in the Battersea Park season finale despite being taken out at the start by championship rival Lucas di Grassi.

Di Grassi sent himself and Buemi into the barriers at Turn 3 on the opening lap, allowing Nico Prost into a lead he would convert into a second victory of the weekend.

The accident tore off Buemi's rear wing and pitched di Grassi nose-first into the barriers, breaking his front-right wheel.

Both resumed, with Buemi continuing for a short while at the back before being forced to pit with his damage and di Grassi limping back to change cars.

With the drivers level on points going into the finale, the race was turned into a battle for the two points for fastest lap.

Buemi needed to secure those points to become champion, with di Grassi otherwise set to pick up the title on countback to third-place finishes, and the duo played a cat-and-mouse game for the remainder of the race.

Di Grassi took first blood on a 1m27.037s but that was never likely to be quick enough, and Buemi set a 1m26.056s after getting baulked by Ma Qing Hua before improving again to a 1m24.582s.

Di Grassi posted a 1m24.9s then set the best first and second sectors of the race with three laps remaining, but could not complete the lap at that pace and fell a tenth shy.

With his rival returning to the pits and getting out of his car, Buemi claimed the points and the championship with some kind of flourish by going even quicker and ending the race with a 1m24.150s.

Prost somehow avoided getting caught up in the first-lap shunt despite being side-by-side with di Grassi heading into the braking zone.

He made the most of his good fortune by scarpering clear to a second win of the weekend.

The dominant victory, secured by 7.6 seconds over Daniel Abt despite a trio of safety cars, also earned the Frenchman third in the standings and helped make certain of Renault e.dams' success in the teams' championship.

Jerome d'Ambrosio claimed a shock third place, benefiting from a trio of time penalties applied to three drivers ahead of him on the road.

Jean-Eric Vergne had finished a comfortable third after jumping Nick Heidfeld after the car swaps and escaping from the Mahindra over the remainder of the race.

But Vergne, Heidfeld and Antonio Felix da Costa were all handed a 50s penalty for using too much energy, dropping them behind d'Ambrosio, Loic Duval (who started last after a gearbox change), Stephane Sarrazin and Bruno Senna.

Behind the three penalised drivers, outgoing champion Nelson Piquet Jr ended a trying season by completing the point scorers.


1Nicolas Proste.damsRenault56m32.648s
2Daniel AbtAbtABT Schaeffler7.633s
3Jerome d'AmbrosioDragonVenturi22.524s
4Loic DuvalDragonVenturi23.290s
5Stephane SarrazinVenturiVenturi24.984s
6Bruno SennaMahindraMahindra27.174s
7Nick HeidfeldMahindraMahindra1m07.544s
8Jean-Eric VergneVirginVirgin1m08.002s
9Nelson Piquet Jr.ChinaNEXTEV TCR1m14.270s
10Oliver TurveyChinaNEXTEV TCR1m22.216s
11Antonio Felix da CostaAguriSpark1m58.324s
12Ma QinghuaAguriSpark1 Lap
13Mike ConwayVenturiVenturi1 Lap
-Lucas di GrassiAbtABT SchaefflerNot classified
-Sebastien Buemie.damsRenaultNot classified
-Robin FrijnsAndrettiSparkAccident
-Simona de SilvestroAndrettiSparkAccident
-Sam BirdVirginVirginThrottle


1Sebastien Buemi155
2Lucas di Grassi153
3Nicolas Prost115
4Sam Bird88
5Jerome d'Ambrosio83
6Stephane Sarrazin70
7Daniel Abt68
8Loic Duval60
9Jean-Eric Vergne56
10Nick Heidfeld53
11Bruno Senna52
12Robin Frijns45
13Antonio Felix da Costa28
14Oliver Turvey11
15Nelson Piquet Jr.8
16Mike Conway7
17Nathanael Berthon4
18Simona de Silvestro4
19Ma Qinghua0
20Jacques Villeneuve0
21Oliver Rowland0
22Salvador Duran0
23Rene Rast0

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed