Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Abu Dhabi GP2: Coletti wins, McLaren junior Vandoorne seals second

Stefano Coletti wins Abu Dhabi GP2 2014

Stefano Coletti won the final GP2 race of the season in Abu Dhabi as McLaren Formula 1 junior Stoffel Vandoorne sealed second in the championship.

A quick start from Coletti drew him past poleman Arthur Pic on the outside of Turn 1, and the Monagasque maintained the position comfortably to the end.

The race's main point of interest came from the battle between Sauber F1-bound Felipe Nasr and Vandoorne to be second in the standings.

Vandoorne went into the race ahead by nine points, but Nasr looked to have the early advantage as he charged from fifth to second on the opening lap.

With the Belgian stuck in seventh for most of the race, unable to get past Mitch Evans in front, the final laps became all about who could set the fastest lap for the additional two points.

Nasr was quick and maintained second on-track with ease but Vandoorne set the fastest lap in the closing stages, and then took sixth as Johnny Cecotto fell back to secure second in the championship with 227 points to Nasr's 224.

Already-confirmed champion Palmer went out on opening lap after a spin in the braking zone of Turn 8, the Briton stalling after nearly collecting the back of Evans.

Pic finished in third ahead of Stephane Richelmi, Evans in fifth and Vandoorne in sixth. Cecotto and Ferrari F1 protege Raffaele Marciello completed the points.

Richelmi was later given a penalty for a track limits infringement, which will drop him to ninth.


1Stefano ColettiRacing Engineering41m37.752s
2Felipe NasrCarlin3.787s
3Arthur PicCampos Racing5.357s
4Mitch EvansRT RUSSIAN TIME12.701s
5Stoffel VandoorneART Grand Prix13.764s
6Johnny Cecotto Jr.Trident18.708s
7Raffaele MarcielloRacing Engineering19.217s
8Sergio CanamasasTrident24.383s
9Stephane RichelmiDAMS29.288s
10Takuya IzawaART Grand Prix29.345s
11Julian LealCarlin29.608s
12Rio HaryantoCaterham Racing30.191s
13Nathanael BerthonVenezuela GP Lazarus30.561s
14Jon LancasterHilmer Motorsport36.411s
15Conor DalyVenezuela GP Lazarus36.817s
16Simon TrummerRapax37.962s
17Nicholas LatifiHilmer Motorsport41.580s
18Pierre GaslyCaterham Racing42.156s
19Artem MarkelovRT RUSSIAN TIME44.492s
20Kevin GiovesiRapax46.210s
21Marco SorensenMP Motorsport47.308s
22Kimiya SatoCampos Racing47.687s
23Rene BinderArden International48.331s
24Andre NegraoArden International53.145s
-Daniel de JongMP MotorsportRetirement
-Jolyon PalmerDAMSRetirement


1Jolyon Palmer276
2Stoffel Vandoorne229
3Felipe Nasr224
4Mitch Evans174
5Johnny Cecotto Jr.140
6Stefano Coletti136
7Arthur Pic124
8Raffaele Marciello74
9Stephane Richelmi73
10Julian Leal68
11Marco Sorensen47
12Andre Negrao31
13Adrian Quaife-Hobbs30
14Sergio Canamasas29
15Rio Haryanto28
16Daniel Abt27
17Simon Trummer26
18Takuya Izawa26
19Tom Dillmann18
20Nathanael Berthon17
21Alexander Rossi12
22Tio Ellinas7
23Jon Lancaster6
24Artem Markelov6
25Rene Binder3
26Conor Daly2
27Kimiya Sato2
28Daniel de Jong2
29Pierre Gasly0
30Sergio Campana0
31Facu Regalia0
32Nicholas Latifi0
33Kevin Giovesi0
34Axcil Jefferies0

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed