Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Bathurst V8s: Mark Winterbottom holds off Jamie Whincup for win

Mark Winterbottom, FPR Ford wins Bathurst 2013

Mark Winterbottom finally scored his first ever Bathurst 1000 win, holding off Jamie Whincup in an amazing finish.

Going up the hill for the 161st and final time, Whincup had a run on the FPR Ford and pulled alongside.

But on the dirty part of the track the rear of Whincup's Triple Eight Holden got loose and he was forced to back off and let Winterbottom go.

The victory for the works Ford team was its first since 1977.

Six hours earlier it looked very different for Winterbottom as he made a good start from the front row before the car appeared to struggle as he selected second gear, which meant he was swamped by the chasing pack.

In contrast, Whincup's team-mate Paul Dumbrell made a perfect getaway and convincingly led the opening stages.

Two safety car periods - one for David Russell hitting the wall in the Nissan Altima he shared with Todd Kelly, the second for Greg Murphy crashing hard in the HRT Holden - threw the fuel strategy wide open.

FPR played this to perfection and moved Winterbottom and team-mate Steve Richards to the head of the field.

Behind the lead duo, there was an almighty fight for third. Initially Jason Bright had his Brad Jones Racing Holden in the fight for first, but his tyres were the oldest and his mirrors were soon filled by Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander, whose tyres were the freshest of all.

Andy Priaulx/Mattias Ekstrom, Triple Eight Holden, Bathurst 2013

HRT driver Tander fought his way by Lowndes, but when he tried to divebomb Bright into The Chase, the wily Triple Eight racer took full advantage as they slithered wide to take both cars in one go.

Bright was livid with Tander for the move and briefly lost fifth to David Reynolds as he regained his composure. But Reynolds needed to make a splash-and-dash, dropping him down the order.

It was a great race from the wildcard Triple Eight entry of Mattias Ekstrom and Andy Priaulx, with both the DTM stars leading at one stage. They needed to pit in the closing stages just for a splash of fuel, which dropped them to 10th, but it was still a hugely impressive performance.

Results - 161 laps:

Pos  Drivers                    Team/Car                        Time/Gap
 1.  Winterbottom/Richards      FPR Ford                   6h11m27.9320s
 2.  Whincup/Dumbrell           Triple Eight Holden             +0.4740s
 3.  Lowndes/Luff               Triple Eight Holden             +6.2360s
 4.  Tander/Percat              HRT Holden                      +7.0950s
 5.  Bright/Jones               Brad Jones Holden              +14.1340s
 6.  Pye/Morris                 Dumbrell Holden                +20.2540s
 7.  Davison/Owen               FPR Ford                       +29.2650s
 8.  McLaughlin/Perkins         Garry Rogers Holden            +43.3410s
 9.  Reynolds/Canto             Rod Nash/FPR Ford              +46.0660s
10.  Priaulx/Ekstrom            Triple Eight Holden            +48.2770s
11.  Van Gisbergen/Bleekemolen  Tekno Holden                   +50.4740s
12.  Webb/Lieb                  Tekno Holden                   +50.8450s
13.  Davison/McIntyre           Schwerkolt/FPR Ford            +51.1930s
14.  Holdsworth/Baird           Erebus Mercedes                +54.1810s
15.  Blanchard/Walsh            Dick Johnson Ford            +1m12.7340s
16.  Coulthard/Youlden          Brad Jones Holden            +1m14.1230s
17.  Ingall/Briscoe             Walkinshaw/HRT Holden        +1m35.3800s
18.  Moffat/Douglas             Nissan                       +1m41.7340s
19.  Kelly/Reindler             Nissan                       +1m43.6620s
20.  Engel/Johnson              Erebus Mercedes                   +1 lap
21.  Mostert/Wood               Dick Johnson Ford                +5 laps
22.  Wall/Pither                Britek/BJR Holden                +5 laps
23.  Premat/Ritter              Garry Rogers Holden              +7 laps
24.  D'Alberto/Reid             D'Alberto Holden                +12 laps
25.  Caruso/Gaunt               Nissan                          +14 laps
26.  Slade/Thompson             Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes       +24 laps


     Fiore/Halliday             Dumbrell Holden                 145 laps
     Courtney/Murphy            HRT Holden                       85 laps
     Russell/Kelly              Nissan                           20 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Whincup claims first Bathurst pole
Whincup heads Bathurst qualifying
Whincup sets early Bathurst pace