Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Bahrain World Endurance Championship: Audi back on top with one-two

#1 Audi, Bahrain 2012Audi returned to the FIA World Endurance Championship winner's circle in Bahrain as Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler claimed victory to increase their lead at the head of the title race.

The two-time Le Mans-winning trio led home an Audi one-two after six hours of racing on the Bahrain International Circuit.

They triumphed by nearly two laps over the sister R18 e-tron quattro shared by Allan McNish and Tom Kristensen, which lost time with overheating rear brakes and then two changes of nose section when one of the headlights failed.

Toyota's aspirations of a second consecutive WEC win were derailed by an electrical glitch affecting the illuminated number panels.

The Toyota had led the race in the hands of Alex Wurz and Nicolas Lapierre from seven laps into the opening stint. The car was holding a lead of approximately 20 seconds early in the third hour when the team was forced to effect repairs.

Lapierre and then Wurz were able to bring the Toyota back into third place ahead of the LMP1 privateers before the former tangled with the Strakka Racing HPD driven by Jonny Kane, damaged his suspension and had to abandon the car out on track.

The Strakka HPD, in which Kane was joined by Danny Watts and Nick Leventis, ended up third after the Toyota's retirement. It triumphed in the unofficial LMP1 privateer class after the Rebellion Racing Lola-Toyota B12/60 shared by Neel Jani and Nicolas Prost lost two laps when it had to change one of its race numbers.

A closely-fought LMP2 battle went to the AF Corse-run Pecom team. Its ORECA-Nissan 03 shared by Pierre Kaffer, Nicolas Minassian and Luis Perez Companc was in contention for the whole race but looked set to lose out to the Starworks HPD until Stephane Sarrazin was unable to restart the car at its final pitstop.

AF Corse sealed the GTE manufacturers' and GTE Pro teams' titles with its fourth consecutive victory. Giancarlo Fisichella and Toni Vilander, who replaced Gianmaria Bruni for this event, looked set to battle with the solo factory Aston Martin Vantage GTE shared by Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke until an exhaust problem lost the British car time.

The Aston remained within striking distance until the one safety car period of the race, when misfortune resulted in it dropping more than a minute behind.

Results - 191 laps:

Pos  Cl     Drivers                            Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  P1     Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer          Audi                    6h00m56.244s
 2.  P1     Kristensen/McNish                  Audi                         + 1 lap
 3.  P1     Leventis/Watts/Kane                Strakka HPD                 + 6 laps
 4.  P1     Prost/Jani                         Rebellion Lola-Toyota       + 7 laps
 5.  P1     Belicchi/Primat                    Rebellion Lola-Toyota      + 10 laps
 6.  P2     Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer     Pecom ORECA-Nissan         + 12 laps
 7.  P2     Mailleux/Lombard/Tresson           Signatech ORECA-Nissan     + 14 laps
 8.  P2     Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Sarrazin  Starworks HPD              + 14 laps
 9.  P2     Liuzzi/Rossiter/Weeda              Lotus Lola-Lotus           + 14 laps
10.  P2     Panciatici/Ragues/Rusinov          Signatech ORECA-Nissan     + 15 laps
11.  P2     Nicolet/Lahaye/Pla                 OAK Morgan-Nissan          + 19 laps
12.  P2     Zugel/Gonzalez/Julian              Greaves Zytek-Nissan       + 21 laps
13.  GTE P  Fisichella/Vilander                AF Ferrari                 + 21 laps
14.  GTE P  Mucke/Turner                       Aston Martin               + 22 laps
15.  GTE P  Lieb/Lietz                         Felbermayr Porsche         + 22 laps
16.  GTE P  Bertolini/Beretta                  AF Ferrari                 + 22 laps
17.  GTE A  Ried/Roda/Ruberti                  Felbermayr Porsche         + 26 laps
18.  GTE A  Kauffman/Aguas/Vickers             AF-Waltrip Ferrari         + 27 laps
19.  GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Rugolo               Krohn Ferrari              + 29 laps
20.  P2     Martin/Graves                      ADR-Delta ORECA-Nissan     + 30 laps
21.  GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees              Larbre Corvette            + 34 laps
22.  GTE A  Belloc/Bourret/Gibon               Larbre Corvette            + 38 laps
23.  GTE A  Camathias/Simonsen/Daniels         JWA Porsche                + 41 laps


     P1     Wurz/Lapierre                      Toyota                       86 laps
     P2     Holzer/Moro                        Lotus Lola-Lotus             68 laps
     P2     Giroix/Ihara/Deletraz              Gulf Lola-Nissan             65 laps
     P1     Brabham/Chandhok/Dumbreck          JRM HPD                      57 laps
     P2     Baguette/Kraihamer/Brundle         OAK Morgan-Nissan             4 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
McNish hands Audi Bahrain WEC pole
Audi quickest in final Bahrain practice
Toyota and Audi set practice pace