Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Harvey beats Jaafar and Serralles in British F3 Donington test

Harvey quickest in Donington testJack Harvey was fastest as the British Formula 3 International Series field completed two sessions of testing before this weekend's final round at Donington Park.

The track gradually dried out during the 45-minute morning session, and Lincolnshire racer Harvey, who sits six points behind championship leader Jazeman Jaafar, beat his Malaysian fellow Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen runner by just under a tenth of a second.

Felix Serralles, the third of the main title contenders - he is three points behind Jaafar and three ahead of Harvey – was a further two tenths adrift in third place in his Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes.

Serralles was the quickest early on in the afternoon session, improving his morning time by a tenth, before team-mate Pipo Derani crashed and caused a lengthy delay while a tyre wall was rebuilt. During this time it rained, so there were no further improvements.

Pietro Fantin showed improved form to go fourth in his Carlin car, ahead of Fortec runners Alex Lynn and Derani.

During the final 20 minutes of running on a wet track, rain expert Hannes van Asseldonk was fastest in his Fortec Dallara, just ahead of Lynn – albeit 13 seconds off the dry-weather pace.

Returning F3 veteran Hywel Lloyd lost some running in the first session with a mechanical problem on his CF Racing Dallara, but in the afternoon he pumped in a time good enough to pip National Class points leader Spike Goddard.

Welshman Lloyd also ran consistently among the fastest six overall when the track was wet.

Pos  Driver                  Team                                  Time    
 1. Jack Harvey              Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen             1m23.156s
 2. Jazeman Jaafar           Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen             1m23.249s
 3. Felix Serralles          Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes    1m23.303s
 4. Pietro Fantin            Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen             1m23.500s
 5. Alex Lynn                Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes    1m23.644s
 6. Pipo Derani              Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes    1m23.781s
 7. Hannes van Asseldonk     Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes    1m23.847s
 8. Harry Tincknell          Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen             1m23.924s
 9. Nick McBride             T-Sport Dallara-Nissan                1m24.492s
10. Geoff Uhrhane            Double R Racing Dallara-Mercedes      1m25.134s
11. Rupert Svendsen-Cook     Double R Racing Dallara-Mercedes      1m25.580s
12. Hywel Lloyd              CF Racing Dallara-Mugen*              1m26.175s
13. Spike Goddard            T-Sport Dallara-Mugen Honda*          1m26.212s
14. Pedro Pablo Calbimonte   T-Sport Dallara-Mugen Honda*          1m26.750s
15. Duvashen Padayachee      Double R Racing Dallara-Mugen Honda*  1m28.401s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Harvey claims F3 title with victory
Tincknell gets win, Harvey takes lead
Harvey closes in with race one win
Harvey takes double pole in decider