Find out more about our subscriptions
You are on the classic version of Autosport. Visit to see our new site.

Jules Bianchi takes dominant maiden Formula Renault 3.5 pole at the Nurburgring

Jules BianchiJules Bianchi took his maiden Formula Renault 3.5 pole position in comfortable fashion ahead of first race of the weekend at the Nurburgring.

The Ferrari junior driver was one of the first to improve after everybody rejoined the track on a second set of tyres in the closing stages. He had been sitting second behind Robin Frijns up to that point, but with four minutes remaining he went four tenths of a second clear of the Dutchman.

From there Bianchi (Tech 1) was untouchable, although Frijns did manage to improve his best by a tenth of a second in the final minute. The Fortec man was under no pressure either though, as he ended the session six tenths of a second ahead of the cars that will make up row two.

The best of the rest honour behind the dominant top two was DAMS' Arthur Pic, who was the only other driver to get within one second of Bianchi's pole time. Nico Muller, who topped Friday's wet second free practice session, will line up fourth for Draco.

Walter Grubmuller was on course for a second row berth before Pic and Muller popped up with late efforts, but the P1 driver still managed a top five, just ahead of Friday morning pacesetter Kevin Magnussen (Carlin).

Championship leader Sam Bird (ISR) ran as high as third in the closing stages, but he was eventually shuffled down to eighth, just behind Lotus driver Marco Sorensen.

Series returnee Cesar Ramos was an impressive ninth in the second Lotus entry, while new Red Bull junior Antonio Felix da Costa (Arden Caterham) lost out in a fight with ISR's Jake Rosenzweig for the final top 10 spot.

Pos  Driver                  Team            Time       Gap
 1.  Jules Bianchi           Tech 1          1m40.537s
 2.  Robin Frijns            Fortec          1m40.915s  + 0.378s
 3.  Arthur Pic              DAMS            1m41.437s  + 0.900s
 4.  Nico Muller             Draco           1m41.555s  + 1.018s
 5.  Walter Grubmuller       P1              1m41.579s  + 1.042s
 6.  Kevin Magnussen         Carlin          1m41.592s  + 1.055s
 7.  Marco Sorensen          Lotus           1m41.607s  + 1.070s
 8.  Sam Bird                ISR             1m41.608s  + 1.071s
 9.  Cesar Ramos             Lotus           1m41.612s  + 1.075s
10.  Jake Rosenzweig         ISR             1m41.785s  + 1.248s
11.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Arden Caterham  1m41.852s  + 1.315s
12.  Carlos Huertas          Fortec          1m41.869s  + 1.332s
13.  Andre Negrao            Draco           1m41.890s  + 1.353s
14.  Will Stevens            Carlin          1m41.892s  + 1.355s
15.  Kevin Korjus            Tech 1          1m42.097s  + 1.560s
16.  Lucas Foresti           DAMS            1m42.136s  + 1.599s
17.  Anton Nebylitskiy       RFR             1m42.261s  + 1.724s
18.  Mikhail Aleshin         RFR             1m42.395s  + 1.858s
19.  Zoel Amberg             Pons            1m42.406s  + 1.869s
20.  Alexander Rossi         Arden Caterham  1m42.477s  + 1.940s
21.  Nick Yelloly            Comtec          1m42.645s  + 2.108s
22.  Daniil Move             P1              1m42.750s  + 2.213s
23.  Nikolay Martsenko       BVM Target      1m43.092s  + 2.555s
24.  Yann Cunha              Pons            1m43.185s  + 2.648s
25.  Giovanni Venturini      BVM Target      1m43.336s  + 2.799s
26.  Vittorio Ghirelli       Comtec          1m43.492s  + 2.955s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Yelloly wins at wet/dry Nurburgring
Frijns takes first FR3.5 pole
Bianchi takes commanding first win
Muller fastest in rain-hit FR3.5 session